Air­port backs high-fly­ers

Leicester Mercury - - News - By STAFF RE­PORTER nikkikan­dola@trin­i­tymir­

YOUNG ex­ec­u­tives rep­re­sent the fu­ture of busi­ness suc­cess in the city and county and for this rea­son the Young Busi­ness Ex­ec­u­tive of the Year award presents a chance for these young guns to demon­strate their tal­ents.

Last year it was Shane Thakrar, chief ex­ec­u­tive of petrol fore­court op­er­a­tor HKS Re­tail, who took the cov­eted ti­tle.

The son of Sailesh Thakrar, one of HKS Re­tail’s found­ing fathers, Shane, 34, took time out to com­plete an in­ter­na­tional busi­ness de­gree in Birm­ing­ham and worked be­yond the fam­ily firm to gain wider ex­pe­ri­ence be­fore join­ing HKS.

But mov­ing into the fam­ily busi­ness was some­thing he was al­ways “pas­sion­ate” about do­ing.

Hav­ing worked his way up the lad­der to be­come CEO, he has headed up the com­pany’s am­bi­tious ex­pan­sion scheme, which con­tin­ues to yield pos­i­tive re­sults.

This year the Young Busi­ness Ex­ec­u­tive cat­e­gory is be­ing spon­sored by an­other high-flyer – East Mid­lands Air­port.

A spokesman for EMA said: “As one of the re­gion’s most prom­i­nent busi­nesses, we’re keen to recog­nise busi­ness tal­ent within the re­gion.

“The East Mid­lands has a fast­grow­ing and dy­namic econ­omy, global brands and top UK uni­ver­si­ties.

All of these in­gre­di­ents make for an at­trac­tive re­gion in which to work, grow and re­lo­cate busi­nesses.

“These awards sup­port the ris­ing stars who play a key role in shap­ing lo­cal busi­nesses and we’re proud to cel­e­brate their achieve­ments.”

The Busi­ness Ex­ec­u­tive of the Year Awards were due to be held at the King Power Sta­dium on Novem­ber 1.

But the awards were post­poned un­til Jan­uary 10 fol­low­ing the he­li­copter tragedy at the ground last month in which five peo­ple died, in­clud­ing Leices­ter City chair­man Vichai Sri­vad­dhanaprabha.

For fur­ther de­tails about the Busi­nesss Ex­ec­u­tive of the Year awards, call Nikki Kan­dola on 0116 366 5126 or e-mail:


PRE­VI­OUS WIN­NER: Shane Thakrar, of HKS Re­tail

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.