Match­room see off Le­gion chal­lenge to go top of pile

Llanelli Star - - Sport -

MATCH­ROOM Reds lie top of the Llanelli Snooker League af­ter a 5-2 vic­tory against Burry Port Le­gion.

Their suc­cess came af­ter wins from Paul Thomas, Frank El­lis, An­drew Rosser and Craig Price, while Dean Thomas and Rich Nurse replied.

Dai Roberts made a swift 55 break for Match­room Whites, who lost 5-2 at Gor­seinon Work­men’s, for whom Mike Dodd, Martin Tucker, Mike Davies and Luke Mur­rell won.

Morfa edged a 4-3 win against Llanelli Cons A, Jamie Tu­dor’s 57 break a high­light. An­drew Hatto and Greg Lewis added wins, while Cons’ win­ning trio were Keith Moore, Gavin Quin­nell and Paul Evans.

Roger Mor­gan was Llandy­bie So­cial A’s sole frame-win­ner in a 6-1 drub­bing at New Lodge A. Adrian Dix, Sam Jenk­ins, Liam Hughes, Dar­ren Wil­liams and Dar­ren Oliver all won for the home side.

Trim­saran A were 4-3 ag­gre­gate win­ners at Read­ing Room Reds cour­tesy of Lee Hol­land, Alan Em­manuel and Lewis Lloyd. Adrian Gower, Phil Payne and Tony Red­mond won for Clwb Bach.

Matt Jones, Keri Davies and Steve Davies edged Pon­tard­du­lais Work­men’s A home 4-3 at bot­tom side Ty­croes RFC A, for whom Robert King, Mikey Hop­kins and Paul Gar­ritty won.

Kieren Evans (31), Kevin Sel­wood and Emyr Bowen steered Pon­ty­berem Work­men’s to a 4-3 vic­tory against Snooker World. John Mead­ows, Chris Wa­ters and An­drew Whit­field won for the Am­man­ford cue­men, whose An­thony Krysa threw in a 39 break.

In di­vi­sion two, a 6-1 vic­tory for Cross Hands B at Pon­tard­du­lais Work­men’s B was enough to take them top. Adrian Phillips, Alex Dickie, Jeff Jones, Mark Davies and Dai Isaac all won, with just Jor­dan Dubesky vic­to­ri­ous for the Bont men.

Pon­thenri So­cial’s 10th straight win was a 4-3 ag­gre­gate suc­cess at Cal­sonic Ri­vals where Craig How­ells, Alun James and Nigel Lewis all won. Aaron Cruick­shank, Phil McGib­ney and Luke Pow­ell were on top for the home side.

Viv Roach and Kev John were Llanelli Cons B’s win­ning duo in a 5-2 re­verse against Ty­croes RFC B, for whom Sean Watkins, Mike Davies, Matthew Davies and Ray Davies won.

El­liott Thomas, Bran­don Brown, Jonathan Stock and Ants Stephens (40 break) gave bot­tom side Great Moun­tain, Tum­ble, a wel­come vic­tory against CGMD, while Llandy­bie So­cial B were 5-2 win­ners against Up­per Tum­ble Reds thanks to Karl Evans, Howard Wood, Steve Pear­son and Peter Watkins.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.