Llanelli Star - - Sport -

RAS y Mast was Sarn He­len Run­ning Club’s fi­nal event for 2018, and al­most 100 adult and ju­nior run­ners gath­ered at the Blaen wern Hol­i­day Cen­tre near Llany by­d­der.

More than 20 ju­niors aged be­tween five and 11 con­tested the first race, and it was Sarn He­len’s Tudur Ll­wyd who took first place in 5:40. Owain Lewis of Aberys­t­wyth AC fol­lowed in 5:52, with Eva Davies of Sarn He­len com­plet­ing the podium in 6:03.

They were fol­lowed by a suc­ces­sion of Sarn He­len ju­niors: Non Crimes 6:10, Jac Rees 6:16, St­ef­fan Rivers 6:22, Sion Jones 6:24, Christo­pher Read­win 6:25, Mad­die Caulkett 6:40, To­mos Green 6:55, Poppy Caulkett 9:53 and the youngest com­peti­tor at just five years of age, Es­ther Ll­wyd, in 10:08.

A field of 12 took part in the un­der­16s race and it was an­other Sarn He­len run­ner, Rhys Wil­liams, who claimed vic­tory in a fast 10:09, fol­lowed by Jake Lynock of Car­marthen Har­ri­ers in 10:32.

Jack Caulkett of Sarn He­len took third in 11:14, just a sec­ond ahead of Sarn He­len’s Daniel Mor­gans.

Other Sarn He­len re­sults were: Harri Rivers 12:12, Lucy Davies 12:52, Gwen­l­lian Ll­wyd 13:09, Iestyn Stephens 13:50, a ded­i­cated Vi­o­let Caulkett, who chose to cel­e­brate her 13th birth­day by run­ning the race in 14:29, and Beca Jones, who had to down­grade due to in­jury, com­pleted one lap.

The se­niors race of 6.5 miles takes run­ners across open fields, rough farm tracks and some tar­mac roads, with a few boggy sec­tions and stream cross­ings thrown in.

The first half was largely up­hill to the mast, fol­lowed by a fast and tech­ni­cal de­scent for the braver run­ners.

One of the youngest com­peti­tors, 16-year-old Joseph Rear­don of Aber­dare AC, won in 43:10, ahead of for­mer win­ner Dy­lan Lewis of Sarn He­len in 43:36.

Tak­ing fourth over­all in 46:37 but third in the male open cat­e­gory was Sarn He­len’s Ken Caulkett.

First M40 was Cardi­gan RC run­ner Mark Hors­man, Sarn He­len’s Dan Hooper was sec­ond M40 in 46:42 and Car­wyn Phillips of Rhed­wyr Pre­seli was third M40.

In the M50 cat­e­gory, win­ner Glyn Price fin­ished more than five min­utes ahead of Nick Mer­rony of Trots, with Aberys­t­wyth’s Dave Pow­ell claim­ing third place.

Dee Jolly was first in the open fe­male cat­e­gory in a time of 50:49, fol­lowed by Jana Wei­de­mann in 58:06 and Aberys­t­wyth AC’s Theresa Shar­land in 65:29. The first lady over­all and win­ner of the F35 cat­e­gory was He­len Mar­shall of Mynydd Du in 48:17, fol­lowed by Louise Barker in 55:27 with Sarn He­len’s Eleri Rivers claim­ing third F35 in 58:46.

In the F45 cat­e­gory, Pem­brokeshire Har­ri­ers’ Tasha Sex­ton took first in 51:49, with Sarn He­len’s De­lyth Crimes sec­ond in 64:28 and club­mate Nanette John third in 75:57.

Dy­lan Lewis, Daniel Hooper and Dee Jolly took the team prize for Sarn He­len.

Other club re­sults: To­mos Mor­gans 49:32, Dafydd Lloyd 50:13, Michael Davies 50:29, Mark Rivers 51:11, Nigel Davies 53:30, Tim Rayner 54:44, Calvin Wil­liams 54:52, St­ef­fan Thomas 56:41, Tony Hall 57:50, Eric Rees 57:53, Mitchell Read­win 58:38, Tim Davies 61:08, Mur­ray Kis­bee 62:34, Huw Price 63:00, Donna Davies 66:21, Pamela Carter 68:06, Nicola Wil­liams 73:38, Nicola Davies 86:54, Jane Holmes 96:38 and Emma Gray 106:00.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.