Which of these thrillers will be the next Girl on the Train?

Hooked on crime fic­tion? HAN­NAH STEPHEN­SON lines up 10 top new page­turn­ers to add to your read­ing list

Llanelli Star - - BOOK SHELF -

WE’RE a na­tion of crime fic­tion read­ers, with crime be­ing the most pop­u­lar book genre across the UK, ac­cord­ing to re­ports from the re­cent Lon­don Book Fair.

Look­ing for some new page­turn­ers to add to your spring read­ing list? Here’s our pick of 10 new thrillers that’ll keep you glued to the edge of your seat...

SLEEP

by CL Tay­lor (April 4, Avon, £12.99) CALLY Louise Tay­lor, whose best­selling psy­cho­log­i­cal thrillers, in­clud­ing The Ac­ci­dent, The Lie and The Fear, have sold more than a mil­lion copies in the UK alone, re­turns with Sleep – an­other grip­ping sus­pense about an in­som­niac who takes a job in a ho­tel on a re­mote Scot­tish is­land to es­cape her past.

But when seven guests join her, each hold­ing a se­cret, what started as a retreat turns into a deadly nightmare.

WAKENHYRST

by Michelle Paver

(April 4, Head of Zeus,

£14.99)

THIS is a dark gothic thriller by the best­selling author of

Dark Mat­ter and

Thin Air, set in

Ed­war­dian Suf­folk

– where an eerie manor house stands alone in a lost cor­ner of the Fens, a glint­ing wilder­ness of wa­ter whose whis­per­ing reeds guard ancient se­crets.

Maud is a lonely child grow­ing up with­out a mother and ruled by her re­pres­sive fa­ther.

When he finds a painted me­dieval devil in a grave­yard, un­hal­lowed forces are awak­ened, and Maud finds her­self bat­tling to sur­vive a world haunted by witch­craft and the demons of her fa­ther’s past.

A BOOK OF BONES

by John Con­nolly (April 18, Hod­der & Stoughton, £16.99) NOW cel­e­brat­ing his 20th year as an author, Con­nolly brings us an­other clas­sic Char­lie Parker tale, in which the ex-cop-turned-pri­vate in­ves­ti­ga­tor and his team head for Eng­land, where, on a lonely moor in the north­east, the body of a young woman has been dis­cov­ered.

Then, other bodies are found in very par­tic­u­lar cor­ners of the coun­try, where his­tory, lore, myth and le­gend come to­gether to wel­come sac­ri­fice.

BLOOD OR­ANGE

by Har­riet Tyce

(Wild­fire, £12.99)

THIS de­but novel by ex-crim­i­nal bar­ris­ter

Tyce, in­tro­duces 30-some­thing crim­i­nal bar­ris­ter Ali­son Wood, who has just landed her first mur­der case, de­fend­ing a wealthy, mid­dle-aged woman who was found cov­ered in blood next to the body of her dead hus­band.

As Ali­son’s ca­reer takes off, her per­sonal life suf­fers as she drinks too much and em­barks on an af­fair – and then it seems some­one knows her se­cret.

Es­sen­tial read­ing for fans of The Girl On The Train and Ap­ple Tree Yard, this one is un­pre­dictable and page-turn­ingly good.

TWISTED

by Steve Ca­vanagh

(April 4, Orion, £7.99)

AUTHOR of the best­selling Thir­teen brings us an­other taut, twisty thriller cen­tring on an elu­sive best­selling mys­tery author.

Very few peo­ple know who he is – and the few who do know his real iden­tity seem to wind up dead. Now, one woman thinks she’s lo­cated him – un­aware of the pos­si­ble con­se­quences.

One to lap up in a sin­gle ses­sion.

RUN AWAY

by Har­lan Coben

(Cen­tury, £20)

DE­SCRIBED by Dan

Brown as ‘the modern mas­ter of the hook and twist’,

Coben is not only a best­selling thriller writer but is also mak­ing a name for him­self on Net­flix.

He cre­ated the TV drama minis­eries Safe, star­ring Michael C Hall and Amanda Ab­bing­ton, and is de­vel­op­ing 14 ex­ist­ing ti­tles and fu­ture projects, in­clud­ing his lat­est book, Run Away, into English lan­guage and for­eign lan­guage se­ries.

This lat­est sees a man search­ing for his run­away drug-ad­dict daugh­ter in New York.

STONE MOTH­ERS

by Erin Kelly (April 4, Hod­der & Stoughton, £12.99)

THIS is one to watch from the author of He Said/She Said, which was a fea­tured title in the Richard & Judy Book Club.

It’s tells the story of Mar­i­anne, who fled her fam­ily and boyfriend when she was 17 and now has to re­turn to see her de­men­tia-suf­fer­ing mother.

At the cen­tre of the story is the aban­doned Nazareth Hospi­tal, once an asy­lum, and the chill­ing se­cret it holds.

AN ANONY­MOUS GIRL

by Greer

Hen­dricks and Sarah

Pekka­nen (Macmil­lan,

£12.99)

ANY­ONE who loved their hit de­but last year –

The Wife Be­tween

Us, a smasher of a thriller – should bag a copy of this riv­et­ing page-turner, in which a make-up artist seizes the chance to earn some easy money by sign­ing up for a psychology study.

It’s be­ing car­ried out by a mys­te­ri­ous Dr Shields as part of what she thinks is a New York Univer­sity study on ethics and moral­ity.

She soon dis­cov­ers, though, that Dr Shields has a com­pletely dif­fer­ent agenda, and quickly learns that some ob­ses­sions can be deadly.

THE SILENT PA­TIENT

by Alex Michaelide­s (Orion, £12.99) MANY thriller writ­ers have heaped praise on this de­but title from the for­mer screen­writer, which be­gins when, late one night, a seem­ingly devoted wife shoots her hus­band five times and then re­fuses to speak an­other word.

En­ter foren­sic psy­chol­o­gist Theo Faber, who is sure he can treat the woman and find out the truth where oth­ers have failed.

The film rights have been snapped up by Brad Pitt’s pro­duc­tion com­pany, so it’s likely to be a sure­fire win­ner.

BEAU­TI­FUL BAD

by An­nie Ward

(Quer­cus, £12.99)

THERE’S a buzz in the pub­lish­ing world around this de­but, which is a big psy­cho­log­i­cal thriller set in sub­ur­ban Kansas, where a fran­tic call alerts po­lice to a shock­ing crime in the gor­geous home of Mad­die and Ian and their young son.

The time-line switches be­tween events which shaped the char­ac­ters’ pasts and led to the call, and the book catches glimpses of Mad­die, Ian, and Mad­die’s for­mer best friend, Jo, from many years ago, and fi­nally what hap­pens af­ter that call.

Paula Hawkins’ best­seller The Girl on the Train was made into a Universal Stu­dios film star­ring Emily Blunt

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.