Big sur­prise in Fly fi­nal

Llanelli Star - - SPORT -

QUAL­ITY pot­ting and ex­cit­ing con­tests were the in­gre­di­ents for a highly suc­cess­ful fi­nals night in the Cardi­gan and Dis­trict Pool League.

The big­gest up­set was in the Jeff Fly Jones Me­mo­rial three-aside com­pe­ti­tion.

Peter Al­mond, Gary Murtagh and Chris Truslove were seen by many as the red-hot favourites to take the ti­tle, es­pe­cially as they had won ev­ery game in the run-up to the fi­nal, which in­cluded a su­perb se­quence of four eight-ball clear­ances on the trot.

It ap­peared they would come out on top again when tak­ing the first three games, but Rugby Club trio Rhy­dian Evans, Carl Owen and Welsh in­ter­na­tional Lee Davies had other ideas as they re­cov­ered to win five games on the bounce for vic­tory.

League cham­pi­ons: Lamb A, 2 Rugby Club; Wooden spoon: Com­mer­cial.

7s KO Cup: 1 Red Lion, 2 Llew Coch.

Su­per vet­er­ans: 1 Terry Wil­liams (Lamb A), 2 Eos How­ells (Bowl­ing Club).

Vet­er­ans Cup: 1 Mark Bel­lotti (Llew Coch), 2 Eos How­ells (Bowl­ing Club).

Jeff Fly Jones Tro­phy: 1 Lee Davies, Carl Owen, Rhy­dian Evans (Rugby Club) 2 Peter Al­mond, Gary Murtagh, Chris Truslove (Lamb A).

Cap­tain’s Cup: 1 Gary Murtagh (Lamb A), 2 Dar­ren Barker (Rugby Cub).

League pairs: Peter Al­mond & Gary Murtagh (Lamb A), 2 Jamie Bowen & Chris Truslove (Lamb A).

Player of the year: 1 Gary Murtagh (Lamb A), 2 Richard Owen (Lamb A), Lee Davies (Rugby Cub), Richard Eldridge (Lamb A).

Most eight-ball clear­ances: Lee Davies (Rugby Club).

Most dou­bles games won: 1 Lee Davies (Rugby Cub), 2 Richard Eldridge (Lamb A).

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.