Llanelli Star - - SPORT -

ALL roads for sport­ing West Wales young­sters led to the 2019 edi­tion of the Am­man­ford Ju­nior Fun Run.

With a to­tal of five age groups and nine dif­fer­ent races, there was some­thing for the whole fam­ily to en­joy in the Am­man Val­ley fes­ti­val of run­ning at an event which has con­tin­ued to go from strength to strength.

The event of­fered races for re­cep­tion and nurs­ery classes and un­der, which was fol­lowed by races for Years 1 & 2, Years 3 & 4, Years 5 & 6 and a com­pre­hen­sive schools Years 7 & 8 to fin­ish the pro­gramme.

Ev­ery fin­isher re­ceived a medal and those who fin­ished in the top three of the Year 1-8 races were also pre­sented with a tro­phy.

The event was or­gan­ised by Am­man Val­ley Har­ri­ers. It saw a bril­liant re­sponse as or­gan­is­ers wel­comed fa­mil­iar faces as well as a num­ber of vis­i­tors from Swansea and Neath, in­clud­ing a team of al­most 20 ath­letes from Mor­ris­ton Com­pre­hen­sive School.

Staged in the first week after halfterm, the fun run was spon­sored by Noel­wyn Daniel and Sharon Daniel of Healthy Life Ac­tiv­i­ties. They pro­vided all the medals, tro­phies and race­day essentials.

Mr Daniel said: “Healthy Life Ac­tiv­i­ties were de­lighted to be spon­sor­ing and sup­port­ing this ex­cel­lent event with Am­man Val­ley Har­ri­ers.

“We are keen to see as many young­sters as pos­si­ble lead a healthy life­style and these events are a great way for the chil­dren to be­come ac­tive and en­joy them­selves at the same time.”

A to­tal of 375 young­sters of all ages and abil­i­ties signed up for the event on the evening. It was one of the best turnouts since the event was in­tro­duced.

Fin­ish­ing in the top three and pre­sented with tro­phies in the Years 1-8 age groups were Noah Jac Thomas (Ys­gol Gym­raeg Rhy­daman), Os­car Too­good (Ys­gol Teilo Sant), Cian Murphy (Ys­gol Gym­raeg Rhy­daman), Gwen­l­lian Jones (Ys­gol Gym­raeg Rhy­daman), Sara Mai Har­ries (Ys­gol Teilo Sant), Mil­lie Lewis ( Ys­gol Iau Llan­gen­nech), Dewi Wil­liams (Llan­dovery Col­lege), Wil­liam Har­net­tJones (Llan­dovery Col­lege), Ethan Is­sac (Ys­gol Ty­croes), Esme Lynock (Ys­gol Llan­gadog), Fflur Moon (Ys­gol Gym­raeg Rhy­daman), Lili Knight (Ys­gol Bry­na­man), Mac­sen Too­good ( Ys­gol Teilo Sant), Alex Coles ( Ys­gol Llan­gadog), Wil­liam Coles ( Ys­gol Llan­gadog), Mari Stephens (Ys­gol Castell-Nedd), Amelie Cam­pion (Ys­gol Bryn­teg), Martha Morgan (Ys­gol Teilo Sant), Sion Davies (Ys­gol Dyf­fryn Aman), Jake Lynock (Ys­gol Bro Dine­fwr), To­mos Phillips (Ys­gol Dyf­fryn Aman), Mai Davies (Ys­gol Gy­fun Gwyr), Amy Greatrick (Queen Eliz­a­beth School) and Emily Tucker (St John Lloyd School).

Years 3&4 win­ners.

Years 1&2 win­ners.

Years 7&8 win­ners.

Years 5&6 win­ners.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.