Sym­phonic Dutch masters go with the over­flow

Metal Hammer (UK) - - Albums -

Un­able to ac­com­mo­date all the cre­ative bom­bast amassed dur­ing the record­ing of 2016’s The Holo­graphic Prin­ci­ple, the Dutch sym­phonic pi­o­neers have un­veiled six more tracks from the ses­sion via this new EP. With its in­com­pa­ra­ble com­po­si­tion and or­nate pas­sages of melodic com­plex­ity, The So­lace Sys­tem stuns. Backed by Gre­go­ri­an­like choral ar­range­ments, the lead ti­tle track swoons rather than tears out of the gate, but the ram­pag­ing riffs and mul­ti­tex­tured har­monies off­set the histri­on­ics, mak­ing it in­stantly ac­ces­si­ble. Ex­cur­sions into low- end ter­ri­tory with chug­ging drums are matched by omi­nous growls (Fight Your Demons), while Im­mor­tal Melan­choly sees Si­mone Si­mons lead­ing the charge, show­cas­ing her abil­ity to weave seam­lessly be­tween oper­atic belt­ing and serene emo­tion. Fif­teen years into a ca­reer brim­ming with highs and un­fath­omable artistry,

Epica con­tinue to shine.

FOR FANS OF: De­lain, Within Temp­ta­tion, Sonata Arc­tica


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.