A brief history
Blaenau Ffestiniog’s railway history is fascinating. The LNWR opened the line from Llandudno Junction in 1881, the GWR’S line from Bala arrived in 1883, having taken over and re-gauged the narrow gauge Festiniog & Blaenau Railway. And that’s without talking about the world-famous Festiniog, which opened in 1836. The EX-LNWR and EX-GWR lines were linked in the 1960s after the line to Bala closed, but rail access was required for the Trawsfynydd nuclear power station. Tight cuttings, curved viaducts, a blend of modern and Victorian bridges, nuclear flasks and slate, standard and narrow gauge all give Blaenau Ffestiniog an atmosphere and history unlike anywhere else. It’s the perfect focal point for a layout!