MABA 2019 fi­nal­ists re­vealed, Ligier joins ros­ter

Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

The four fi­nal­ists who will con­test the 2018 Mclaren Au­tosport BRDC Award have been selected.

BRDC For­mula 3 race win­ners Jamie Caro­line and Tom Gam­ble, For­mula Re­nault Eu­rocup points leader Max Fewtrell, and British For­mula 4 cham­pion Kiern Jewiss are fi­nal­ists. Only Fewtrell, 19, has been a fi­nal­ist be­fore.

There will be fit­ness and sim­u­la­tor el­e­ments be­fore a two-day test at Sil­ver­stone in Mo­tor­sport Vi­sion For­mula 2, Mclaren GT3 and Ligier LMP3 ma­chin­ery.

The JSP3 is a new ad­di­tion this year, re­plac­ing the Mercedes DTM car due to the man­u­fac­turer’s with­drawal from the se­ries.

Prizes for the win­ner, who will be an­nounced at the Au­tosport Awards on De­cem­ber 2, in­clude a Mclaren F1 test and full mem­ber­ship of the British Rac­ing Driv­ers’ Club.

Ex-for­mula 1 driver and for­mer BRDC pres­i­dent Derek War­wick chairs the judg­ing panel which also com­prises two-time British Tour­ing Car cham­pion Ja­son Plato, for­mer Mclaren and Lola de­signer Mark Wil­liams, GT team boss and 1997 Award win­ner An­drew Kirkaldy, ex­pe­ri­enced com­men­ta­tor Ian Titch­marsh, Mclaren’s Amelia Lewis, and Au­tosport’s Kevin Turner and Scott Mitchell.

Last year’s guest judge and re­cently an­nounced BMW For­mula E driver Alexan­der Sims has also joined the panel full-time.

For­mer Award win­ners in­clude 2009 F1 world cham­pion Jen­son But­ton, new Mclaren F1 driver Lando Nor­ris who won the award in 2016, 13-time grand prix win­ner David Coulthard, triple In­di­anapo­lis 500 vic­tor Dario Fran­chitti, and 2014 World En­durance cham­pion An­thony David­son.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.