Davies wins in Builth as he and fel­low Nova man Evans tie on times

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Si­mon Gronow

Builth Show­ground Stages Or­gan­iser: Here­ford­shire MC When: No­vem­ber 3 Where: Royal Welsh Show­ground, Builth Wells Stages: 14 Starters: 55 Af­ter 14 stages over mixed sur­faces at the Royal Welsh Show­ground, there was no sep­a­rat­ing the Vaux­hall No­vas driven by Sam Davies/ Martin Lasper and Ian Evans/ Justin Brooks.

Last year’s win­ner Davies moved into a one sec­ond lead af­ter the first two stages, and he con­tin­ued to lead un­til the sixth stage when Evans equalled his time. Evans then moved to the front, only to lose time when his brakes jammed on when a stone got stuck in the pedal box on SS10.

Go­ing into the last stage, Davies led by one sec­ond, and both driv­ers gave it their all. Davies had a big mo­ment at high speed and dropped a sec­ond to Evans, who had over­shot a junc­tion in the dark. With the first-stage tie-break ap­plied, vic­tory went to Davies.

Be­hind them, Kevin Davies, with An­nie Green along­side, was de­lighted to fin­ish third in his Cil­wen­deg-win­ning Ford Es­cort, and grate­ful that his car was prob­lem-free as he headed off to con­test that evening’s Powys Lanes road rally event, which he duly won (see Road Rally round-up). Nigel Mee/reg Davies were lucky when they hit a rock just af­ter the fly­ing fin­ish of stage 10, dam­ag­ing their Subaru Im­preza’s sus­pen­sion. Af­ter re­pairs, they over­took class lead­ers Theo Ben­gry/les Fors­brook for fourth po­si­tion, though the Es­cort crew were thor­oughly en­joy­ing the event.

Dan Evans/jes­sica Hockly dropped over a minute when their Suzuki Swift broke a drive­shaft on stage three, but pulled back to a class-win­ning sixth over­all ahead of Phil Jones/clive Jones. The lat­ter crew dropped a place fol­low­ing a stage 11 spin. Con­rad and So­phie Law took their Es­cort Mk1 to a two sec­ond class win from Wayne Lloyd/bryan Bar­rell, who re­ceived a time penalty for a wrong di­rec­tion at a split junc­tion. So did Damian Cole/michelle Shaw although they still won their class in their Es­cort. Re­sults 1 Sam Davies/ Martin Lasper (Vaux­hall Nova) 42m24s; 2 Ian Evans/justin Brooks (Nova) +0s; 3 Kevin Davies/ An­nie Green (Ford Es­cort Mk2); 4 Nigel Mee/ Reg Davies (Subaru Im­preza); 5 Theo Ben­gry/ Les Fors­brook (Es­cort Mk2); 6 Dan Evans/jes­sica Hockly (Suzuki Swift); 7 Phil Jones/ Clive Jones (Es­cort Mk2); 8 Con­rad Law/ So­phie Law (Ford Es­cort Mk1); 9 Wayne Lloyd/ Bryan Bar­rell (Es­cort Mk2); 10 Gary Thomas/ Linda Thomas (Es­cort Mk2). Class win­ners: Evans/ Hockly; Evans/ Brooks; Law/ Law; Damian Cole/ Michelle Shaw (Es­cort Mk2); Steve El­lis/ Steve Mcphee (BMW 325i); Davies/ Green; Ben­gry/ Fors­brook; Mee/ Davies.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.