Door fi­nally shuts on mul­ti­ple BTCC ti­tle-win­ning Triple Eight Rac­ing team

Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

Mul­ti­ple ti­tle-win­ning Bri­tish Tour­ing Car Cham­pi­onship team Triple Eight Rac­ing has closed its doors.

The Su­per­car op­er­a­tion, Triple Eight Race En­gi­neer­ing, is an en­tirely in­de­pen­dent off­shoot of the orig­i­nal BTCC team and the Aus­tralian team is un­af­fected. But the Bri­tish coun­ter­part has now ceased trad­ing and the name will dis­ap­pear from UK mo­tor­sport. The firm was dis­solved by Com­pa­nies House on Novem­ber 13, 2018.

The UK arm of the firm, which was cre­ated by Derek War­wick, Ian Har­ri­son and Roland Dane in 1996, took over the con­tract to run the works Vaux­hall BTCC at­tack in ‘97. It ran the Bri­tish firm’s prod­ucts as a fac­tory-backed out­fit un­til the end of 2009.

In that time, Triple Eight Rac­ing, orig­i­nally known as Triple Eight Race En­gi­neer­ing, won more cham­pi­onships than any other team in the BTCC.

It won nine man­u­fac­tur­ers’ cham­pi­onships (in­clud­ing one with MG), six teams’ cham­pi­onships and six driv­ers’ ti­tles, along­side the In­de­pen­dents Tro­phy in 2011 with James Nash.

Af­ter Vaux­hall with­drew in 2009, Triple Eight con­tin­ued as an In­de­pen­dent en­try un­til land­ing the deal to run the fac­tory MGS in 2012. At the end of 2016, the team was sold to Team BMR chief War­ren Scott.

Scott’s Team BMR out­fit over­saw Triple Eight’s fac­tory MG pro­gramme in 2016 and ‘17, un­til the cars were sold to AMD Tun­ing for ‘18.

Scott, the owner of the Triple Eight Rac­ing name, said: “We had noth­ing to use [the Triple Eight Rac­ing] name for any­more. We have sold the as­sets – or they are with other peo­ple now – and so we de­cided to wind it up.

“It is a shame. We looked at run­ning cars in the TCR UK Cham­pi­onship un­der the Triple Eight name, but that didn’t hap­pen. It is a shame.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.