TURNER IS THE MASTER WITH JAFFA WINS Se­condtri­umphi­narow­for­turneran­dan­tho­ny­atthe­garethrobertsmemo­ri­aleven­tat­pem­brey

Motor Sport News - - Rally Reports - By Si­mon Gronow Pho­tos: Wil­liam Neill, ral­ly­gallery.co.uk

Or­gan­iser: Car­marthen MC When: De­cem­ber 30, 2018 Where: Welsh Mo­tor­sports Cen­tre, Pem­brey Stages: 5 Starters: 68

On a day of mixed weather con­di­tions, Phil Turner/si­mon An­thony adapted best of the full en­try to win the Jaffa Stages in their Mit­subishi Lancer E9 for the se­cond year run­ning.

Af­ter mak­ing a steady start, the pair upped their pace as the day wore on – get­ting used to a new pad­dleshift gear­box – and won the event by 32 sec­onds.

For­est reg­u­lars Gavin Ed­wards and Caron Tom­lin­son pushed Turner hard on a rare Tar­mac out­ing be­fore set­tling for the run­ners-up spot in their Ford Es­cort Mk2. Wil­liam Mains/ar­fon Grif­fiths put in the drive of the day to fin­ish third in their Vaux­hall Nova.

Fastest on the first stage were Jamie Jukes/james Mor­gan, who were quick­est by 21 sec­onds in their Mit­subishi Mi­rage, but their joy was short-lived as a stage two punc­ture dropped them out of con­tention. Jukes car­ried on, be­fore gear­box is­sues cur­tailed his day on SS4.

Mains/grif­fiths jumped to third af­ter a host of re­tire­ments on stage four, in­clud­ing gear­box fail­ure for Roger Thomas/james Wil­liams.

Tom Bar­ber/ioan Lloyd lost time with a stage three spin and went off on SS4 in their BMW Com­pact but took fourth, ahead of Peter Bar­rett/robert Thomas in their Es­cort Mk2 af­ter a long lay-off. Round­ing out the top six was first-time pair­ing of road rally class win­ners Rho­dri Evans/ian Tay­lor.


1 Phil Turner/ Si­mon An­thony (Mit­subishi Lancer E9) 51m 45s; 2 Gavin Ed­wards/ Caron Tom­lin­son (Ford Es­cort Mk2) +32s; 3 Wil­liam Mains/ar­fon Grif­fiths (Vaux­hall Nova); 4 Tom Bar­ber/ Ioan Lloyd (BMW Com­pact); 5 Peter Bar­rett/ Robert Thomas (Es­cort Mk2); 6 Rho­dri Evans/ Ian Tay­lor (Es­cort Mk2); 7 Mike Roberts/ Hefin Jenk­ins (Es­cort Mk2); 8 Jim Mun­den/ Danny Hutchins (Subaru Im­preza); 9 El­lis Bel­ton/ Michael Jones (Es­cort Mk2); 10 Josh Jones/ Craig Jones (Peu­geot 205). Class win­ners: Mains/ Grif­fiths; Sean Jones/ El­liott Roberts (Mazda MX-5); Roberts/jenk­ins; Ed­wards/tom­lin­son; Bar­ber/ Lloyd; Mun­den/ Hutchins; Evans/tay­lor.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.