Mclaugh­lin be­comes new BWRDC pres­i­dent

Motor Sport News - - Racing News -

The British Women Rac­ing Driv­ers’ Club has an­nounced Lo­rina Mclaugh­lin as its new pres­i­dent.

She is one of a hand­ful of fe­male driv­ers to have driven For­mula 1 ma­chin­ery in com­pe­ti­tion and cur­rently owns an ex-michael Schu­macher Benet­ton B192 in which she set her ninth “fastest time by a lady driver” at the Good­wood Fes­ti­val of Speed in 2018.

She has also set women’s records on the Good­wood hill in an ex-james Hunt Mclaren M23.

Her pre­vi­ous achieve­ments in­clude a se­cond place in the 1974 British For­mula 4 se­ries, which earned her the Lord Wake­field Chal­lenge Tro­phy for out­stand­ing per­for­mance in mo­tor­sport by a wo­man. Later, she won the BARC For­mula Ford 2000 cham­pi­onship.

She is now one of the names be­hind The Force F1 Le­gends.

Record holder: Lo­rina Mclaugh­lin

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.