Re­vamped for­mat set to re­vi­talise asia-pa­cific

Motor Sport News - - Rally News -

This year’s Asia-pa­cific Rally Cham­pi­onship will run with a rad­i­cally dif­fer­ent for­mat for the first time.

In an ef­fort to en­hance com­pe­ti­tion in one of the most ge­o­graph­i­cally di­verse cham­pi­onships in the world, a new seven-round APRC cal­en­dar will be split into Asia and Pa­cific re­gions. The four Pa­cific Cup rounds are: Rally of Otago and Rally of Whangarei in New Zealand while Aus­tralia pro­vides Rally Tas­ma­nia and the Eu­reka Rally. The Asia Cup rounds are Rally of Medan (In­done­sia), Rally of Jo­hor (Malaysia), Rally Hokkaido (Ja­pan) and China Rally.

Two groups of driv­ers from both re­gions will then qual­ify for the APRC fi­nale at the In­dia Rally in late No­vem­ber. This event will de­cide the APRC win­ner.

FIA APRC Work­ing Group pres­i­dent Vicky Chand­hok said: “We’re get­ting there. We’ve or­gan­ised a very rad­i­cal change which is a new and vi­brant for­mat for the FIA APRC.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.