Hat­ton se­cures awards dou­ble


YOUNG Hor­net Lewis Hat­ton scooped the top prizes at the Rochdale Hor­nets end of sea­son din­ner on Fri­day at a cer­e­mony at Rochdale Golf Club.

Hat­ton, 21, was voted by his peers as the club’s player’s player of the year and was also elected coaches player of the year by the coach­ing staff.

Dubbed by Alan Kil­shaw as the ‘tough­est bloke I’ve ever coached’, Hat­ton has missed just a hand­ful of games with the de­part­ing Kil­shaw re­veal­ing he has needed an an­te­rior cru­ci­ate lig­a­ment op­er­a­tion for the most part of the sea­son.

Cross­ing the line five times in 2018, the prop for­ward is known for his block­bust­ing car­ries and ruth­less de­fence and has be­come no­to­ri­ous for his abil­ity to get un­der the op­po­si­tions skin.

Billy Brick­hill also picked up the award for young player of the year and has im­pressed in 2018 with a strong run­ning game and the abil­ity to find an off­load from any­where.

The 21-year-old joined from Glouces­ter­shire All Golds ahead of the sea­son and was cat­a­pulted into ac­tion on the back of in­juries to se­nior play­ers. He has im­pressed since com­ing in and has been de­ployed at loose for­ward, hooker and cen­tre.

An­other young­ster in Deon Cross picked up the sup­porter’s player of the year after join­ing from Black­brook ARLFC.

The cen­tre crossed the line 13 times over the course of the sea­son and re­ally hit form at the right time by dom­i­nat­ing in the Cham­pi­onship Shield, scor­ing six tries in five games in­clud­ing a brace away to Bat­ley and two long range ef­forts in the wins over Dews­bury and Sh­effield that kept the club in the Cham­pi­onship.

A new award was in­tro­duced for 2018 in mem­ory of the late Ray My­ers - The Ray My­ers Memo­rial Tro­phy. Ray’s wife, Ena Myer’s picked Ben Moores as the re­cip­i­ent for his ef­forts in 2018. Moores made 25 ap­pear­ances this year, cross­ing for three tries.

Rob Mas­sam was awarded the pres­ti­gious time­keeper’s award by club time­keeper, Trevor Haigh for his ef­forts in de­fence and at­tack with Trevor cit­ing his abil­ity to carry Hor­nets off their own line when they need it while also chip­ping in with some im­pres­sive scores.

Mas­sam was also recog­nised as the clubs top try scorer in 2018 with 14.

Fan blog These Lads Can Run For 80 Min­utes chose Tyler Whit­taker’s match win­ning try at Sh­effield as the mo­ment of the 2018 sea­son, while Deon Cross picked up the award for try of the sea­son for his break­away score against Dews­bury Rams in the penul­ti­mate round of the sea­son.

Full list of win­ners:

Lewis Hat­ton – Coaches player of the year Lewis Hat­ton – Player’s player of the year Billy Brick­hill – Young player of the year Rob Mas­sam – Top try scorer Deon Cross – Sup­porter’s player of the year Rob Mas­sam - Time­keep­ers award Tyler Whit­taker – TLCRF80 Min­utes mo­ment of the sea­son Ben Moores – Ray Myer’s memo­rial tro­phy Deon Cross – Try of the sea­son

Jackie Mered­ith

●●Lewis Hat­ton scooped the play­ers’ player of the year and coaches player of the year awards for Hor­nets

Jackie Mered­ith

●●Rob Mas­sam was top try scorer

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.