1 Zam­bia 2 New Zealand

Rugby World - - FRONT ROW -

Zam­bia and Al­ge­ria will both play in the Africa Gold Cup next year. Zam­bia lost 31-0 to Al­ge­ria in a play-off be­tween the win­ners of the North and South Sil­ver Cups to de­cide who would be pro­moted to the Gold Cup. How­ever, it was later de­cided both sides should move into an ex­panded top-tier event.

The de­ci­sion means Morocco (be­low) stay in the Gold Cup, along­side Namibia, Kenya, Uganda, Tu­nisia and Zim­babwe. Auck­land lifted their first ti­tle since 2007 by beat­ing Can­ter­bury 40-33 in the fi­nal of the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership. It was 26-26 at full-time and there were three tries in ex­tra-time, the score from Leon Fuko­fuka (above) de­ci­sive.

Waikato beat Otago 36-13 to win the Cham­pi­onship, Horowhenua Kapiti pipped Wairarapa Bush 26-23 in the Lo­chore Cup and in the Meads Cup, Thames Val­ley – in their first fi­nal since 1995 – won 17-12 against South Can­ter­bury.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.