Ruislip & Eastcote & Northwood Gazette

Concert celebrates Scotland



HILLINGDON Philharmon­ic Orchestra’s next show will be a special concert of music celebratin­g Scotland.

The programme will include Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy, for which violin soloist Yuriko Matsuda will join the orchestra.

An active soloist and chamber musician, Yuriko has performed at many of London’s most prestigiou­s venues including the Wigmore and Queen Elizabeth Halls.

She has also been the recipient of numerous awards and performed with many famous conductors, including Sir Simon Rattle and Michael Tilson Thomas.

The concert will begin with Mendelssoh­n’s immensely popular Hebrides Overture, often better known as Fingal’s Cave.

Inspired by his travels to Scotland and specifical­ly the Scottish landscape, Mendelssoh­n’s work conveys both the drama and awe of the scene but also more tranquil memories of the Scottish countrysid­e.

Mendelssoh­n’s Symphony No 3, his ‘Scottish Symphony’, will also provide a fitting conclusion to this Scottish programme, with melodies and rhythms of Scottish folk music and further celebratio­n of the landscapes and cultures of Scotland.

The Hillingdon Philharmon­ic Orchestra is now well establishe­d in the local area with more than 60 registered members, having performed an incredibly wide and varied repertoire of works over the years.

The Autumn Concert will be led by Lucy Cumming and conducted by the founder of the Orchestra, Peter J Williams.

It will be held on Saturday October 15 at 7.30pm, in All Saints

Church, Ryefield Avenue, Hillingdon.

Tickets cost £15 (concession­s £12, children free of charge).

Call 01895 674 223 or purchase via an orchestra member.

Tickets are also available on the door.

 ?? ?? Hillingdon Philharmon­ic Orchestra
Hillingdon Philharmon­ic Orchestra
 ?? ?? Violinist Yuriko Matsuda
Violinist Yuriko Matsuda

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United Kingdom