MP seats shake-up wins coun­cil back­ing

U-turn on plan to merge with Fife com­mu­ni­ties

Strathearn Herald - - NEWS - Ross Gar­diner

Coun­cil­lors have agreed on the re­vised con­stituency pro­pos­als for Perth and Kin­ross put for­ward by the Bound­ary Com­mis­sion for Scot­land.

Cur­rently Perthshire is split into Perth and North Perthshire and Ochil and South Perthshire.

But UK par­lia­men­tary con­stituen­cies are be­ing reshuf­fled.

Scot­land’s cur­rent 59 con­stituen­cies will be re­duced to 53 un­der the scheme, which went out to an eight-week public con­sul­ta­tion that fin­ished on De­cem­ber 11.

The pro­pos­als won coun­cil ap­proval at a meet­ing on De­cem­ber 20.

Pete Wishart MP’s Perth and North Perthshire con­stituency would only see mi­nor changes.

The Strath­tay coun­cil ward would be moved into his con­stituency. Pre­vi­ously the A9 vil­lages up to and in­clud­ing Bank­foot were in the south­ern seat.

But Luke Gra­ham MP’s Ochil and South Perthshire con­stituency, which was only in­tro­duced in 2005, is set to be torn apart again.

Perth and Kin­ross Coun­cil’s Al­mond and Earn, Kin­rossshire, Strathal­lan and Strat­hearn wards are due to join the ex­ist­ing Stir­ling con­stituency.

This is a change from the ini­tial pro­posal, which was to split the lo­cal author­ity area into Perth and North Perthshire and a new seat called Kin­ross-shire and Cow­den­beath.

Coun­cil­lors sup­ported the new pro­pos­als but voted against the sug­gested name of Stir­ling­shire and South Perthshire.

Kin­ross- shire coun­cil­lor Richard Wat­ters ex­pressed his dis­ap­point­ment that his ward was not in­cluded in the con­stituency’s name. A num­ber of coun­cil­lors agreed with him, say­ing the con­stituency name should re­flect the re­gion’s his­tory and cul­ture.

Fel­low Kin­ross-shire coun­cil­lor Michael Bar­na­cle had writ­ten to the Bound­ary Com­mis­sion, ask­ing it to re­con­sider the ini­tial plans for a Fife pair­ing.

He said he was glad to see the for­ma­tion of an “en­tirely ru­ral” con­stituency be­tween Perthshire and Stir­ling and an “en­tirely ur­ban” con­stituency of Dun­fermline and Clack­man­nan­shire.

The coun­cil unan­i­mously called for the new seat to be called Stir­ling­shire, Kin­rossshire and South Perthshire.

The Bound­ary Com­mis­sion is set to present the re­vised pro­pos­als to the Sec­re­tary of State for Scot­land in Septem­ber.

The coun­cil unan­i­mously called for the new seat to be called Stir­ling­shire, Kin­ross-shire and South Perthshire

Re-drawn LukeGra­ham

Mi­nor changes Pete Wishart

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.