Roll call of leg­ends who have all won at Carnoustie

The Courier & Advertiser (Dundee Edition) - - NEWS -

The 2018 com­pe­ti­tion will be the eighth time Carnoustie has hosted the Open and the first time since 2007.

In 1999, Scot­land’s Paul Lawrie, right, tri­umphed af­ter a play-off with Justin Leonard and Jean Van de Velde.

Ben Ho­gan fa­mously won the Open at Carnoustie in 1953 on the only oc­ca­sion he com­peted for the cov­eted

Claret Jug.

The other win­ners at the An­gus links are Tommy Ar­mour (1931), Henry Cot­ton (1937), Gary Player (1968), Tom Wat­son (1975) and Padraig Har­ring­ton (2007).

Brought up land-locked in Kansas, Wat­son ini­tially found links golf for­eign and be­fud­dling. How­ever, he went on to win at Carnoustie, with a piece of white heather zipped in­side his bag.

A lit­tle girl had knocked on his door the morn­ing of his play-off win and handed him the heather wrapped in foil as a good luck charm.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.