Stoneykirk rink wins Gal­loway Cup

The Galloway News - - SPORTS -

The pres­ti­gious Gal­loway Cup knock-out com­pe­ti­tion, spon­sored by James Gor­don Ltd, was won in some style by a Stoneykirk Curl­ing Club rink, skipped by Nor­man Brown, at Stran­raer Ice Rink last Thurs­day evening.

Nor­man, with Alex Fer­gus­son, Brian McColm and Adam Sharp, saw off the brave chal­lenge of the form team of the com­pe­ti­tion, Colin Dal­rym­ple, Ann Baynes, Rita Mitchell and Mar­garet Breadon from Cas­tle Kennedy CC, with a 9-3 win in the fi­nal.

Most of the win­ning shots were scored in the sixth end when the Cas­tle Kennedy four­some called it a day.

The Gal­loway Cup is the only com­pe­ti­tion in the curl­ing cal­en­dar that in­volves rinks from three prov­inces, the Gal­loway Prov­ince, the Rhins o’ Gal­lowa’ Prov­ince and the Ste­wartry Prov­ince.

Af­ter the fi­nal game, Gal­loway Prov­ince Pres­i­dent Drew Pa­ton asked Rhins sec­re­tary Janette Sloan to present the mag­nif­i­cent tro­phy to Nor­man and his rink.

Both the win­ning rink and the run­ners- up re­ceived McMil­lan Ho­tel vouch­ers.

Win­ning skip Nor­man Brown thanked his rink and the op­po­si­tion for the qual­ity of the curl­ing and had a spe­cial word of thanks for James Gor­don Ltd who con­tinue to gen­er­ously spon­sor this com­pe­ti­tion.

He also thanked the three sec­re­taries, David McMiken, Janette Sloan and Louise Kerr, for or­gan­is­ing the com­pe­ti­tion.

A bot­tle raf­fle to help with in­sur­ance cover for the tro­phy raised a wel­come £130. Re­sults: 1st round – R Lam­mie, Lo­gan WO Twyn­holm SCR; G Adams, Kirk­cowan SCR S Groome, An­woth and Grithon WO; N R Brown, Stoneykirk 11 B Roff, Kirkcud­bright Coun­try 10; D Pa­ton, Pen­ning­hame 2 H Parker, Cas­tle Kennedy 12; J T Can­non, Wig­town 5 C Dal­rym­ple, Cas­tle Kennedy 6.

Quar­ter-fi­nals – R Lam­mie 12 S Groome 2; N R Brown 11 D McArthur, Min­ni­gaff 2; P So­ri­ani, Glasser­ton 5 H Parker 6; C Dal­rym­ple 6 T Har­ri­son, Leswalt 2.

Semi-fi­nals – R Lam­mie 3 N R Brown 6; H Parker 6 C Dal­rym­ple 7.

Fi­nal – N R Brown 9 C Dal­rym­ple 3

Prizes Brian McColm, Alex Fer­gus­son, Nor­man Brown, Louise Kerr, Gal­loway Prov­ince sec­re­tary (pre­sent­ing), and Adam Sharp

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.