Quarry: Site produced six million tonnes
One of Europe’s biggest man-made holes, Rubislaw Quarry opened in 1740 to support the city’s granite industry.
Over the next two centuries, an estimated six million tonnes of stone were excavated for use on some of Aberdeen’s most iconic buildings.
And Rubislaw granite is found
“The quarry closed in 1971 and is filled with water”
even further afield, with Waterloo Bridge in London, the terrace of the Houses of Parliament and parts of the Forth Bridge also built from the rock. The quarry closed in 1971 and is now filled with water.
It was bought in 2016 by Sandy Whyte and Hugh Black for a reported £60,000.
Mr Black has expressed his desire to develop a heritage centre at the site.