Ori­gin of the names New­found­land and Labrador

Timeless Travels Magazine - - CANADA -

The prov­ince of New­found­land and Labrador is one of the ten prov­inces and three ter­ri­to­ries that make up Canada. New­found­land is one of four At­lantic prov­inces in Canada.

The names of the prov­inces re­flect the in­flu­ence of early Por­tuguese ex­plo­ration: New­found­land is a trans­la­tion of the Por­tuguese Terra Nova, which lit­er­ally means

new land and the name of Labrador is thought to de­rive from the sur­name of the Por­tuguese nav­i­ga­tor João Fer­nan­des Lavrador, who ex­plored the coast of Green­land.

Ref­er­ences to 'lavrador's land' evolved into the area's name, Labrador. The term was first ap­plied to a sec­tion of the coast of Green­land, but the area of Labrador now in­cludes all the north­ern is­lands in the re­gion.

Pre­vi­ously called only New­found­land, the prov­ince of­fi­cially be­came New­found­land and Labrador in De­cem­ber 2001, when an amend­ment was made to the Con­sti­tu­tion of Canada.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.