FIM X-Trial suc­cess

Trial Magazine - - NEWS -

The first sea­son in the new X-Trial FIM World Cham­pi­onship era has seen sev­eral records bro­ken. The 2018 Cham­pi­onship came to a con­clu­sion in Bu­dapest in late March and has pro­duced a marked step for­ward for the dis­ci­pline, demon­strated by var­i­ous in­ter­est­ing sta­tis­tics.

A to­tal of 16 dif­fer­ent rid­ers have par­tic­i­pated at some stage dur­ing the seven X-Trial events, and six dif­fer­ent na­tion­al­i­ties have been rep­re­sented through the sea­son. Seven dif­fer­ent rid­ers have made it onto an X-Trial podium in 2018 and three of them, Toni Bou, Adam Raga and Jaime Busto, have made it to top spot. Six young hope­fuls have made their first steps in the Cham­pi­onship by achiev­ing their se­ries de­buts in 2018.

Toni Bou has recorded a 12th con­sec­u­tive X-Trial World Cham­pi­onship ti­tle. Jaime Busto claimed his first-ever X-Trial win. With vic­tory at X-Trial Paris Busto be­came the 20th dif­fer­ent win­ner in the dis­ci­pline and only the fourth dif­fer­ent rider to win a round in the last decade.

With an im­pres­sive level of con­sis­tency Adam Raga has now reached 25 con­sec­u­tive X-Trial podium ap­pear­ances stretch­ing back to the 2014 cam­paign, and ex­tends his all-time podium record above the cen­tury mark to a to­tal of 104 top-three fin­ishes. TRRS rider Raga has also be­come the high­est all-time point-scorer in the sport with a to­tal of 2,043 ca­reer X-Trial points.

Takahisa Fu­ji­nami made his 136th X-Trial start when he lined up in Bu­dapest, in the process se­cur­ing a new all-time ap­pear­ance record in the sport. At the sea­son-end­ing X-Trial Bu­dapest, Hun­gary be­came the 19th dif­fer­ent na­tion to host an X-Trial World Cham­pi­onship round.

2018 FIM X-TRIAL WORLD CHAM­PI­ONSHIP FI­NAL PO­SI­TIONS: 1: Toni Bou (Rep­sol Honda-ESP) 106; 2: Adam Raga (TRRS-ESP) 104; 3: Jamie Busto (Gas Gas-ESP) 65; 4: Benoit Bin­caz (Scorpa-FRA) 64; 5: Miquel Ge­labert (Sherco-ESP) 43; 6: James Da­bill (Beta-GBR) 37; 7: Jeroni Fajardo (Gas Gas-ESP) 36; 8: Takahisa Fu­ji­nami (Rep­sol Honda-JPN) 28; 9: Alexan­dre Fer­rer (Sherco-FRA) 6; 10; Luca Pe­trella (TRRS-ITA) 3; 11: Jorge Casales (Ver­tigo-ESP) 3; 12: Franz Kadlec (Gas Gas-GER) 2; 13: Mat­teo Grat­tarola (Montesa-ITA) 2; 14: Ar­nau Farre (Ver­tigo-ESP) 2; 15: Jack Price (Gas Gas-GBR) 2; 16; Gabriel Mar­celli (Montesa-ESP) 2.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.