Tchaikovsky – Sym­phonies Nos. 3, 4 & 6

Yorkshire Post - Culture & The Guide - - 8/FILM - DAVID DEN­TON 5/5

Ap­pear­ing in the Leeds Town Hall to­mor­row night, the

Royal Liver­pool Phil­har­monic has now placed on disc the most elec­tri­fy­ing mod­ern record­ing of Tchaikovsky’s six num­bered sym­phonies, three al­ready is­sued on Onyx. The young Rus­sian con­duc­tor, Vasily Pe­trenko, is no slave to the printed score, and he never fails to ex­cite as he drives the Fourth for­ward of­ten at hair-rais­ing speeds, while in the more re­laxed Third he show­cases the beauty of the orches­tra’s wood­wind team in a de­light­ful scherzo. After a re­strained open­ing, it is a highly emo­tional view to the Sixth, the pow­er­house brass tak­ing the March straight into the doom-laden finale. Re­al­is­tic rather than hyped-up sound in a mid-priced dou­ble-disc re­lease.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.