Big Spring Herald Weekend

Primary Early Voting starts Monday

- By ROGER CLINE Herald Staff Writer

Are you a staunch Democrat or Republican? Then you may be interested in voting in the primary election for this fall's General Election.

Here are a few points to remember:

• First, if you're not registered by now, you can't vote in the primary. Get registered by Oct. 11 to vote in the Nov. 7 General Election.

• If you are registered to vote, pick a party. You can vote in either party's primary, but not both.

• If you need to vote by mail, you must send a Mail Ballot Applicatio­n to the Howard County Elections Office by Feb. 18. That's this Friday.

• Early in-person Primary voting will be Monday through Friday from Feb. 14 to Feb. 25. Most days, polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., but on Feb. 24 and 25, the polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Early Voting is conducted at the Elections Office at the Howard County Courthouse, 300 S. Main St.

• Primary Election Day is Tuesday, March 1. Polls will be open 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Don't go to the Elections Office! On election day only, polls are located at: Ryan Hall/st. Thomas Church, 605 N. Main St.; First Baptist Church, 705 W. FM 700; Dorothy Garrett Coliseum, 1001 Birdwell Lane; and Coahoma Community Center, 306 North Ave. in Coahoma. Regardless of your party affiliatio­n, you may vote at any one of the four voting locations.

• If you have questions or need to request curbside voting, email, call 432264-2273; or visit the website at Candidates on the Democratic Primary ballot include:

• Governor: Joy Diaz, Michael Cooper, Beto O'rourke, Inocencio “Inno” Barrientez, Rich Wakeland.

• Lieutenant Governor: Mike Collier, Carla Brailey, Michelle Beckley.

• Attorney General: Lee Merritt, Rochelle Mercedes Garza, Mike Fields, S. “Tbone” Raynor, Joe Jaworski.

• Comptrolle­r of Public Accounts: Janet T. Dudding, Angel Luis Vega, Tim Mahoney.

• Commission­er of the General Land Office: Jinny Suh, Jay Kleburg, Sandragrac­e Martinez, Michael Lange.

• Commission­er of Agricultur­e: Susan Hays, Ed Ireson.

• Railroad Commission­er: Luke Warford.

• Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3: Erin A. Nowell.

• Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5: Amanda Reichek.

• Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9: Julia Maldonado.

• Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Dana Huffman.

• Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Robert Johnson.

• Howard County Judge: Steven Hobbs.

Candidates on the Republican Party ballot include:

• U.S. Representa­tive District 19: Jodey C. Arrington.

• Governor: Allen B. West, Chad Prather, Don Huffines, Paul Belew, Kandy Kay Horn, Rick Perry, Greg Abbott, Danny Harrison.

• Lieutenant Governor: Daniel Miller, Zach Vance, Todd M. Bullis, Aaron Sorrells, Dan Patrick, Trayce Brandford.

• Attorney General: Eva Guzman, George P. Bush, Louie Gohmert, Ken Paxton.

• Comptrolle­r of Public Accounts: Glenn Hegar, Mark V. Goloby.

• Commission­er of the General Land Office: Dawn Buckingham, Weston Martinez, Tim Westley, Victor Avila, Jon Spiers, Rufus Lopez, Ben Armenta, Don W. Minton.

• Commission­er of Agricultur­e: James White, Carey A. Counsil, Sid Miller.

• Railroad Commission­er: Dawayne Tipton, Sarah Stogner, Marvin “Sarge” Summers, Wayne Christian, Tom Slocum Jr.

• Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3: Debra Lehrmann.

• Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5: Rebeca Huddle.

• Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9: Evan Young, David J. Schenck.

• Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 2: Mary Lou Keel.

• Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5: Scott Walker, Clint Morgan.

• Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6: Jesse F. Mcclure III.

• Member, State Board of Education, District 15: Jay Johnson, Aaron Kinsey.

• State Senator, District 31: Stormy Bradley, Kevin Sparks, Tim Reid, Jesse Quackenbus­h.

• State Representa­tive: District 72: Drew Darby.

• District Judge, 118th Judicial District: R. Shane Seaton.

• Howard County Judge: Tom Land, Randy S. Johnson, Robert “Bob” Stapp.

• District Clerk: Joanna Gonzales.

• County Clerk: Brent Zitterkopf.

• County Treasurer: Sharon Adams.

• County Commission­er, Precinct 2: Rick Morrow, Lewis Boeker, Cash Berry.

• County Commission­er, Precinct 4: Doug Wagner, John H. Cline.

• Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Place 2: Mike Averette, Robert “Bob” Smith.

• Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2: Kandi Campbell, Patrick Gonzales.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States