Chattanooga Times Free Press

More schools join Apple tech initiative


NASHVILLE — A dozen historical­ly Black colleges and universiti­es will join Tennessee State University’s national coding hub as community centers, the school said.

The centers will be part of Apple’s Community Education Initiative and Tennessee State’s program to expand technology and creative experience­s at the other schools and communitie­s.

The new schools are Alabama State University, Clark Atlanta University, Edward Waters College, Elizabeth City State University, Florida A&M University, Harris-Stowe State University, Lane College, LeMoyne-Owen College, Lincoln University in Missouri, Simmons College of Kentucky, Virginia State University and Texas Southern.

The schools will join nearly three dozen universiti­es across the country that are part of the initiative.

Apple is supporting the HBCUs with equipment and profession­al developmen­t.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States