Cherokee County Herald - - COMMUNITY NEWS -

Ja­coway was in­ducted into the Cherokee County Sports Hall of Fame in 2014 and re­tired from coach­ing on Fe­bru­ary 12, 2015 with a record of 228-132.

****** The Alabama High School Ath­letic Di­rec­tors and Coaches As­so­ci­a­tion re­cently se­lected the boys and girls bas­ket­ball teams to play in the Alabama-Mis­sis­sippi All-Star Bas­ket­ball games on Fri­day.

The games will be played at Dunn-Oliver Acadome on the cam­pus at Alabama State Univer­sity.

Head­lin­ing the boys’ squad are eight play­ers who com­peted in the Alabama High School Ath­letic As­so­ci­a­tion’s state bas­ket­ball tour­na­ment.

Among them are 6-foot-7 guard/for­ward Herbert Jones of Class 4A state cham­pion Hale County, 6- 4 guard Shy’im Cun­ning­ham of 3A state champ Mid­field, guards D.J. Heath and Ke­vion Nolan of 1A state champ Sa­cred Heart Catholic.

Jones has al­ready signed with Alabama.

Oth­ers on the squad who have al­ready signed Di­vi­sion I schol­ar­ships are 6-10 cen­ter Gar­ri­son Brooks of Auburn High School (Mis­sis­sippi State), 6-5 Fairhope guard Te­via Brown (Mur­ray State) and 6-9 Pel­ham for­ward Alex Reese (Ala- bama) and 6-4 Spain Park guard Ja­mal John­son (Mem­phis Univer­sity). Brooks led Auburn to the 7A state fi­nals.

Other all-stars in­clude 6-7 guard/for­ward Ja­van John­son of Austin, 6-4 Mid­field guard Shy’im Cun­ning­ham, 6-6 for­ward De­An­dre Robin­son of Mon­roe County and 6-7 for­ward Myles Parker of Madi­son Academy.

Round­ing out the team is guard Ma­lik Bur­nett of Lee-Huntsville.

The Alabama girls’ ros­ter fea­tures four play­ers that par­tic­i­pated in the AHSAA state tour­na­ment and three who have al­ready signed to Di­vi­sion 1 schools, in­clud­ing 5-11 Brew­baker Tech guard Bianca Jack­son and 5-10 Gads­den City guard Ha­ley Troup.

Both have signed with South Carolina.

Unique Thompson of Faith Academy, a 6-3 for­ward, has also signed with Auburn.

Other girls’ all-stars in­clude Desh­ler guard Ni­cole Shirley, Tanner for­ward Kirsten Brown, Wenonah for­ward Alexus Dye and point guard Jayla Mor­row.

Dye and Mor­row helped the Lady Dragons win four state ti­tles and Shirley helped Desh­ler win 68 straight games with the streak be­ing bro­ken in this year’s Class 4A fi­nals.

The girls’ game will tip off at 5 p.m., fol­lowed by the boys’ game at 7 p.m. Both games will be live-streamed over the NFHS Net­work and will be broad­cast over the AHSAA Ra­dio Net­work.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.