Alabama sup­port­ing or­der re­strict­ing peo­ple from se­cu­rity-risk coun­tries

Cherokee County Herald - - FRONT PAGE -

MONT­GOMERY — Alabama At­tor­ney Gen­eral Steven T. Mar­shall an­nounced that Alabama is one of 13 States fil­ing an amicus brief in sup­port of the Trump ad­min­is­tra­tion’s ex­ec­u­tive or­der tem­po­rar­ily re­strict­ing the ad­mis­sion of for­eign na­tion­als from six coun­tries pos­ing a se­cu­rity risk to the United States. The ex­ec­u­tive or­der was re­cently ruled un­con­sti­tu­tional by a fed­eral court in Mary­land, and the Trump ad­min­is­tra­tion has ap­pealed that rul­ing.

“As pres­i­dent of the United States, Don­ald Trump has the le­gal author­ity to re­strict en­try into this coun­try of any for­eign na­tional who may pose a risk to our safety and se­cu­rity,” ob­served At­tor­ney Gen­eral Steven T. Mar­shall. “It de­fies rea­son that the fed­eral courts would seek to block the Com­man­der in Chief from ex­er­cis­ing his le­gal author­ity to pre­emp­tively safe­guard Amer­i­cans’ se­cu­rity.

“In re­sponse, Alabama has sent a sig­nal that we sup­port Steven Mar­shall the Trump ad­min­is­tra­tion’s ex­ec­u­tive or­der re­strict­ing en­try of for­eign na­tion­als from six coun­tries with the strong­est record of ter­ror­ism: Iran, Libya, So­ma­lia, Su­dan, Syria and Ye­men.”

The multi-state amicus brief filed in the United States Court of Ap­peals for the Fourth Cir­cuit ar­gues that those who op­pose the Trump ad­min­is­tra­tion’s ex­ec­u­tive or­der are seek­ing to ap­ply con­sti­tu­tional rights to non-cit­i­zens who are not even in this coun­try.

“Their ( plain­tiffs’) the­ory calls for an ex­tra­or­di­nary ex­ten­sion of con­sti­tu­tional rights to non­res­i­dent aliens who are out­side this coun­try and at­tempt­ing to en­ter the coun­try. Non­res­i­dent aliens who are in for­eign ter­ri­tory clearly not un­der the sov­er­eign con­trol of the United States do not pos­sess rights un­der the United States Con­sti­tu­tion re­gard­ing en­try into this county.”

Alabama joined Texas, Ari­zona, Arkansas, Florida, Kansas, Louisiana, Mis­sis­sippi*, Mon­tana, Ok­la­homa, South Carolina, South Dakota and West Vir­ginia in fil­ing an amicus brief in sup­port of the Trump ad­min­is­tra­tion. *Brief filed by the gov­er­nor of Mis­sis­sippi

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.