Stock trend­ing up for 3 fi­nal­ists

Tago­v­ailoa, Mur­ray, Hask­ins vy­ing for foot­ball’s top prize

Chicago Tribune - - DEATH NOTICES - By Ralph D. Russo

NEW YORK — Tua Tago­v­ailoa rolled across the floor of the New York Stock Ex­change on a black scooter with a lit­tle Alabama sticker on the front, his sprained left an­kle in a gray plas­tic boot, safely propped up as he pushed off with his right foot.

The Crim­son Tide quar­ter­back and fel­low Heis­man Tro­phy fi­nal­ists Kyler Mur­ray of Ok­la­homa and Dwayne Hask­ins of Ohio State were on Wall Street on Fri­day to ring the closing bell on a day the Dow Jones In­dus­trial Av­er­age closed down 558 points.

Stock for the three first-year starters has been soar­ing this sea­son. A year ago they were sec­ond on their team’s depth chart. On Satur­day, one of them will win the Heis­man Tro­phy.

Tago­v­ailoa picked up where he left off in the sec­ond half of last sea­son’s na­tional cham­pi­onship game vic­tory against Ge­or­gia to lead the top-ranked Crim­son Tide back to the play­off as a sopho­more.

Hask­ins, a third-year sopho­more, stepped in af­ter the de­par­ture of a four-year starter and smashed Ohio State and Big Ten pass­ing records.

Mur­ray, a fourth-year junior, re­placed last sea­son’s Heis­man win­ner and had an even bet­ter sea­son than his pre­de­ces­sor. Mur­ray waited the long­est to fi­nally take over a team, trans­fer­ring from Texas A&M af­ter a rocky fresh­man sea­son, tak­ing a red­shirt year to sat­isfy NCAA trans­fer rules and then back­ing up Baker May­field in 2017.

“Sit­ting down and watch­ing is kind of im­por­tant,” Mur­ray said. “I know Dwayne got to sit and watch. Tua ob­vi­ously got to sit and watch. It just helps you with your growth and ma­tur­ing on and off the field. That’s a big part.”

For the 16th time in 19 years, a quar­ter­back will win col­lege foot­ball’s most cov­eted in­di­vid­ual award.

For the first time since 2008, when Ok­la­homa’s Sam Brad­ford, Texas’ Colt McCoy and Florida’s Tim Te­bow were the Heis­man fi­nal­ists, only quar­ter­backs were in­vited to New York for the tro­phy pre­sen­ta­tion.

There is also a good chance that for just the sec­ond time in the 83-year his­tory of the Heis­man, the top-five vote-get­ters will be quar­ter­backs too. West Vir­ginia’s Will Grier and Wash­ing­ton State’s Gard­ner Min­shew II were the other con­tenders, but nei­ther drew enough sup­port to earn a trip to New York. In 2001, when Ne­braska’s Eric Crouch won the Heis­man, the top six in the vot­ing were quar­ter­backs.


Dwayne Hask­ins, from left, Kyler Mur­ray and Tua Tago­v­ailoa pose with the Heis­man.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.