6 file to run in Park For­est mayor’s race

In­cum­bents face chal­lenges in other South­land con­tests

Daily Southtown (Sunday) - - FRONT PAGE - By Mike Nolan

With Park For­est Mayor John Osten­burg not seek­ing a sixth term, six peo­ple, in­clud­ing two trustees, are vy­ing to re­place him in the spring, ac­cord­ing to pe­ti­tion fil­ings for next year’s mu­nic­i­pal elec­tions.

In Coun­try Club Hills, first­term Mayor James Ford faces a chal­lenge, and in Dolton, 11 can­di­dates have filed to run for three four-year seats.

Park For­est trusteesMae Bran­don, a trustee since 2003, and Jonathan Van­der­bilt, elected last year, have filed to suc­ceed Osten­burg, along with JeRome Brown, Emma Cox, Re­nee Hawthorne and Sean Hightower.

Brown was elected a vil­lage trustee in 2013 but lost re-elec­tion in 2017. He ran un­suc­cess­fully for mayor against Osten­burg in 2015.

Eight peo­ple had ini­tially pulled pe­ti­tions to cir­cu­late for the mayor’s po­si­tion.

Run­ning for three four-year seats as trustee areTrus­tee Tif­fani Gra­ham, Candyce Herron and JosephWoods.

First elected in 1999, Osten­burg re­cently an­nounced hewould not run again in April. Last month, he was named ex­ec­u­tive board chair­man for the Metropoli­tan May­ors Cau­cus, with his term on the MMC end­ing when his cur- rent term as mayor ends.

Here is fil­ing in­for­ma­tion for other south and south­west sub­urbs, pro­vided by vil­lage and city clerks. In some in­stances, can­di­date pe­ti­tions are be­ing chal­lenged, which could af­fect the fi­nal bal­lot that vot­er­swill see.

Blue Is­land

Seek­ing four-year terms as al­der­manin the city’s 1stWar­dare An­nette Alexan­der and An­to­nio Clardy, while Wil­liam Cazares is seek­ing to rep­re­sent the 2nd Ward and Ald. Nancy Rita is seek­ing re-elec­tion in the 3rd Ward.

In the 4th Ward, cur­rent Ald. Bill Fahren­wald is seek­ing re­elec­tion and also run­ning is Tony DiNovo. In the 5thWard, Johnny Ringo Hill, Gabriel McGee and Ol­lie Nathan Tal­bott Jr. are run­ning for four-year terms andMike Mech is run­ning for a two-year term.

In the 6th Ward, RaeAnn Can­telo-Zyl­man and Emanuel Michael Sk­lom are seek­ing fouryear terms on the City Coun­cil.

In the 7th Ward, Ald. Ale­cia Slat­tery filed pe­ti­tions for a fouryear term along­with AlexGomez and Al­lan Stevo. Fil­ing to run for a two-year term in that ward was JimKIinker.

Coun­try Club Hills

James Ford, elected in 2015 to suc­ceed Dwight Welch, who’d been the city’smayor since 1987, is be­ing chal­lenged by Ald. An­thony Davis, 5th, who had been among

Ford’s chal­lengers in the 2015 elec­tion. Also seek­ing the mayor’s job is Steven Heath.

Cur­rent city Clerk Deb­o­rahMcIl­vain is chal­leng­ing in­cum­bent city Trea­surer Argie John­son- Martin, along with Steven Bur­ris.

Fil­ing for city clerk are CharlesDryer, Va­le­ri­aDun­smore, Pa­tri­ci­aHut­son and Mer­lyn McNeal. No al­der­men are up for re-elec­tion in­April.

A term lim­its ref­er­en­dum ques­tion had made Welch in­el­i­gi­ble to seek re-elec­tion in 2015.


Cur­rent Trustees Pa­tri­cia Theresa Flynn, Linda Madlener andKev­inWasag are run­ning for three fouryear terms, while Trustee MichaelMcIn­er­ney is run­ning for an un­ex­pired twoyear term


A Feb. 26 pri­mary will make the April 2 elec­tion a moot point, with 11 can­di­dates, all fil­ing as Democrats, for three trustee po­si­tions. With no in­de­pen­dents or other par­ties fil­ing, the pri­mary win­ners are all but guar­an­teed to not face a chal­lenge in the spring.

In­cum­bent Trustees DuaneMuham­mad, Robert Pier­son Jr. and Va­le­ria Stubbs have filed for re­elec­tion. Oth­ers who have filed are Kevin Boens, Stan­ley “Stan” Brown, a for­mer trustee, Tam­mie Brown, Al­fred “A.J.” Burse, An­drew Holmes, Robert E. Hunt Jr., a for­mer trustee, AlisonKey andEd­ward “Ed” Steav.

In theNovem­ber gen­eral elec­tion, Dolton vot­ers backed a ref­er­en­dum ques­tion that lim­its trustees to serv­ing no more than two con­sec­u­tive terms, but propo­si­tions to do away with the vil­lage’s pri­mary elec­tion and re­duce the num­ber of trustees from­six to four were nar­rowly de­feated.


Adam Bor­relli, the vil- lage clerk, is run­ning for one of three trustee seats along with cur­ren­tTrus­tee Robert J. Kennedy as well asMar­garet M. Fa­rina and Jes­sica Petrow. Trustees Cyn­thia Corso Heath and Mike Stevens did not file pe­ti­tions for re-elec­tion.


Ge­orge Yu­kich filed to run for what will be his se­cond and fi­nal term. Vot­ers in a 2016 ref­er­en­dum ques­tion over­whelm­ingly backed a pro­posal to limit the mayor to no more than two four-year terms.

Run­ning for vil­lage clerk is Christina NeitzkeTroike, a vil­lage trustee.

Fil­ing to run for three trustee seats are cur­rent Clerk An­nHoltz and trustees Carlo Caprio and Beth Rodgers. Also seek­ing trustee seats are Michael Kart­sou­nis and Ruben Pazmino.


Brenna Hamp­tonHouser and Ken­neth “Mojo” Muldrow are run­ning for al­der­man in the city’s 1stWard. Ald. Ernest Blevins did not file pa­per­work seek­ing re-elec­tion, and an­other can­di­date filed but later with­drew.

Seek­ing to rep­re­sent the 2nd Ward on the City Coun­cil are Perry Brow­ley, Mar­ion “Mel” Grott and Wanda Jean McDow­ell. Ald. Clifton Ford did not file pe­ti­tions.

In the 3rd Ward, Ald. Ron­dal “Ron” Jones is be­ing chal­lenged by Ge­orge Wal­ton, and Ald. Wil­liam Bar­ron, 4th, is be­ing chal­lenged by Robert “Bob” DePolo.


Run­ning for three fouryear terms as trustee are An­toine Bass, Tharon Bradley, Rob­bie Craig, Johnny B. Dancy, Jr., Trustee Paula Farr, Ron­ald McCul­lough, Shawn Mitchell, Vic­torA. Phillips and Trustee An­dre C. Satchell.

Run­ning for two-year terms are Trustee Juanita M. Hardin and Johnny B. Dancy Jr.


Run­ning for three fouryear terms as trustee are in­cum­bent Trustees San­dra L. Crow­ley, Carl Ivan and Don­ald Kil­le­lea.


In­cum­bent Trustees Joseph Budzyn, Deb­o­rah En­gler and James Rich­mon­dare run­ning for fouryear terms, while Trustee Jil­lian Her­sted is run­ning for a two-year seat. Clerk Melissa Mar­tini is also seek­ing re-elec­tion.


May­orTimBal­der­mann filed to seek a fourth term while three trustee seats are up for elec­tion. Run­ning are trustees David But­ter­field, Dou­glas Fin­negan and Keith Mad­sen, along with chal­lenger Brian O’Leary.

Oak For­est

Ald. Laura Clem­mons Gray, 1st, Ald. Diane Wolf, 3rd, Ald. Denise Dani­hel, 7th, and Tax­payer Ad­vo­cate Guy Gat­ton are seek­ing re-elec­tion.

Oak Lawn

In­cum­bent trustees Tim Des­mond, 1st, Bob Streit, 3rd, and Wil­liam “Bud” Stalker, 5th, are seek­ing re-elec­tion. Paul Mallo is chal­leng­ing Streit in the 3rdDistrict.


Run­ning for three fouryear trustee terms areMo­hanned ElNa­tour, Wil­liam Healy, Devin Hodge, Cyn­thia Nel­son Kat­senes, Michael Milani, Kelly O’Brien and in­cum­bent Trustee Ca­role Ruzich. Trustees Michael Car­roll and Pa­tri­cia Gira are not seek­ing re-elec­tion.

Pa­los Hills

Ald. Martin Kleefisch, 1st, is seek­ing re-elec­tion to a four-year term, and Ge­or­gia Fio­takis also is seek­ing to rep­re­sent the ward. Ald. Michael Price, 1st, is run­ning for an un­ex­pired two-year term.

Ald. Pauline Strat­ton, 2nd, Ald. Michael Le­barre, 3rd, Ald. Joseph Mar­rotta III, 4th, and Ald. Dawn Nowak, 5th, are also seek­ing re-elec­tion to four-year terms. Run­ning for an un­ex­pired two-year term in the 5th Ward are Donna O’Con­nell and Ar­tur Kra­sowski.


Run­ning for three fouryear trustee seats are Wil­liam Bren­nan, Trustee John Cur­ran, Christo­pher Cwik, Diane Galante, Brian Godlewski, Jef­frey Mech, and trustees Michael Pan­nitto and Brian Younker.


Coun­try Club Hills Mayor James Ford, left, is be­ing chal­lenged by Ald. An­thony Davis, 5th, right, in the April elec­tion.


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.