Daily Times (Primos, PA)

McBride, Trethewey among winners of Anisfield-Wolf awards


NEW YORK » Novelist James McBride, former U.S. poet laureate Natasha Trethewey and science fiction great Samuel R. Delaney are among this year’s winners of Anisfield-Wolf awards for books that confront racism and help promote diversity.

McBride’s “Deacon King Kong” won for fiction, and Trethewey’s memoir “Memorial Drive” was a co-winner for nonfiction, along with Vincent Brown’s “Tacky’s Revolt.” Delaney, known for such influentia­l novels as “Babel-17” and “Dahlgren,” received a lifetime achievemen­t prize. Victoria Chang’s “Obit” was honored for the best work of poetry.

The Anisfield-Wolf awards were founded in 1935 and are managed by the nonprofit Cleveland Foundation. Previous winners include the Rev. Martin Luther King, Toni Morrison and Wole Soyinka.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA