Hartford Courant

Burrow Camp player of year


LSU quarterbac­k Joe Burrow has been named the Walter Camp Player of the Year, it was announced on Thursday. Burrow, who led the Tigers to a 13-0 record, the No. 1 ranking and a berth in the FBS playoffs, was also named the AP Player of the Year on Thursday. He has thrown for 4,715 yards and 48 touchdowns and is a favorite to win the Heisman Trophy when it is awarded on Saturday.

McCarthy fifth in voting

Central Connecticu­t State football coach Ryan McCarthy finished fifth among the 15 finalists in the voting for the annual Eddie Robinson Award given annually to the top coach in FCS. McCarthy led the Blue Devils to an 11-2 season and a berth in the FCS playoffs. … Hartford Athletic announced the signing of forward Dre Deas for the 2020 season. Deas played last season at Cal StateNorth­ridge.

Area college honor roll

Berlin’s Zachary Nielsen, a diver for the University of Saint Joseph, has been named the New England Intercolle­giate Swimming and Diving Associatio­n diver of the week. Nielsen finished sixth in the 3-meter and 1-meter at last week’s Connecticu­t Cup. Blue Jays co-captain Alise Martel of Harwinton was named swimmer of the week after finishing third in the 50 free.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States