La Semana

FIFA Club World Cup format and quali cation criteria for 2025

- Compiled by Rohith Nair; Editing by Hugh Lawson and Clare Fallon

(Reuters) - FIFA announced on Sunday that its revamped Club World Cup, to be held for the rst time in 2025, will feature 32 teams and will be played from mid-june to mid-july.

Following are details of how the tournament will work:

- The United States will host the 2025 edition of the expanded event, which will be held every four years thereafter.

- The tournament will have eight groups of four with the top two teams from each group going through to the knockout stages -- the same format as the World Cup.

- The current version of the FIFA Club World Cup -- an annual competitio­n with seven teams -- will be discontinu­ed after the tournament now being hosted by Saudi Arabia.

- Europe will have 12 teams in the new competitio­n and South America will have six, while Africa, Asia and North America will have four each. Oceania has one slot, while the Knal slot will be allocated to a club from the host country.


- Clubs will be ranked based on sporting criteria over four seasons to secure qualikcati­on for the Club World Cup.

- Teams will get three points for a win, one point for a draw and three points for progress to each stage of their confederat­ion's premier competitio­n.

- In Europe, UEFA'S club coe-cients system will be used, with teams getting two points for a win, one point for a draw, four points for qualikcati­on for the group stage, Kve points for qualikcati­on for the last 16 and one point for progress to each stage of the competitio­n thereafter.

- Confederat­ion champions from 2021-2024 will be eligible to play in the new Club World Cup, meaning Chelsea, Real Madrid and last season's Champions League winners Manchester City have qualiked from Europe.

- The other European teams who have qualiked based on the points system are Bayern Munich, Paris St Germain, Inter Milan, FC Porto and Benkca.

- Only two teams from one country can qualify for the tournament unless they win the continenta­l competitio­n. For example, since Chelsea and City have qualiked from England, Arsenal can qualify only if they win the Champions League this season.

- From South America,

Brazilian sides Palmeiras, Flamengo and Fluminense have qualiked as Copa Libertador­es champions, while Asian sides Al Hilal and Urawa Red Diamonds are also through.

- Al Ahly and Wydad have similarly qualiked from Africa while Monterrey,

Seattle Sounders and Club Leon are through from North America.

- Oceania's Auckland City have sealed progress with no other team in position to overtake their points tally.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States