Marysville Appeal-Democrat - - SPORTS -

split af­ter a win­less 2018 sea­son. The duo won a record-ty­ing seven Cup series ti­tles to­gether.

By­ron’s run also re­sulted in the sev­enth straight Day­tona 500 pole for a Chevro­let, dat­ing to Dan­ica Pa­trick’s his­toric qual­i­fy­ing run in 2013.

The key now is for By­ron to cap­i­tal­ize on his po­si­tion. It rarely hap­pens.

The last pole sit­ter to win the race was Dale Jar­rett in 2000. Just seven pole sit­ters have won the Day­tona 500.

Bow­man fin­ished 17th last year from the No. 1 spot. El­liott fin­ished 14th in 2017 and 37th in 2016. In 2015, Gor­don fin­ished 33rd as the race pole sit­ter.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.