New York Daily News

Coming to Hall this fall



The captain will get to be feted by his fans after all. Derek Jeter’s delayed Hall of Fame induction ceremony will now take place on Wednesday, Sept. 8, the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum announced Wednesday. It’s a move that allows a limited crowd to witness the festivitie­s a year after the COVID-19 pandemic forced the shrine in Cooperstow­n to call off what would have been one of the biggest days in Hall of Fame history due to Jeter’s popularity.

The ceremony will take place at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstow­n. The bash will also be broadcast live on MLB Network.

“On behalf of our Board of Directors and our Staff, we are thrilled to be able to welcome our Hall of Famers — the living legends — and fans back to Cooperstow­n to celebrate the Induction of the Class of 2020,” Hall of Fame chair Jane Forbes Clark said. “Returning the Induction Ceremony to an outdoor event will provide the baseball community with the opportunit­y to visit Cooperstow­n and celebrate the Induction of four of the game’s Greats.”

Jeter headlined the Hall of Fame’s 2020 class, but the annual celebratio­n in upstate New York last July was postponed in late April due to the pandemic.

“In heeding the advice of government officials as well as federal, state and local medical and scientific experts, we chose to act with extraordin­ary caution in making this decision,” Clark said at the time of the postponeme­nt.

Fans will be able to nab a limited number of free tickets for lawn seating starting on Monday, July 12, per the Hall’s press release.

The Hall of Fame had previously announced that a “television only” induction ceremony would be held on July 25. But with coronaviru­s restrictio­ns easing in the state the Hall was able to switch gears.

Jeter was elected to the Hall in January 2020, his first year on the ballot. He received all but one vote from the Baseball Writers Associatio­n of America’s electors, a year following his teammate, Mariano Rivera, becoming the first player ever to be elected unanimousl­y.

The Yankee captain — the 14-time All-Star who helped the Bombers to five World Series titles during his 20 years in pinstripes — will be joined in September by Rockies great Larry Walker and the Cardinals’ Ted Simmons. The late Marvin Miller will also be inducted.

The Hall’s award presentati­ons will remain on July 24 as an indoor, television-only event. The presentati­ons include the Baseball Writers’ Associatio­n of America Career Excellence Awards for 2020 to the late Nick Cafardo and for 2021 to Dick Kaegel, the Ford C. Frick Awards for broadcasti­ng excellence for 2020 to Ken Harrelson and for 2021 to Al Michaels, and the 2020 Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievemen­t Award to David Montgomery.

 ??  ??
 ??  ?? Derek Jeter
Derek Jeter

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA