Aetna names Ne­wark’s EMT of the Year


Sa­van­nah Thomp­son has been named the Lt. John P. Mur­phy EMT of the Year by Aetna Hose, Hook and Lad­der Com­pany.

Thomp­son, a field train­ing of­fi­cer, was nom­i­nated by fel­low mem­bers of the fire de­part­ment, and was se­lected for her work ethic and re­li­a­bil­ity, Aetna spokesman John H. Far­rell said.

“Sa­van­nah is en­thu­si­as­tic to teach and is ex­cited to dis­cuss the de­tails of her last call with her EMT Can­di­date,” Far­rell said.

EMS Deputy Chief Amy Ca­vanaugh de­scribed Thomp­son as en­thu­si­as­tic, and noted she is ex­cel­lent at pa­tient care.

“Sa­van­nah is a great as­set to our field train­ing pro­gram, work­ing with new EMTs to en­sure they are re­ceiv­ing the train­ing needed to be pro­fi­cient,” Ca­vanaugh said.

The award, re­named in Mur­phy’s honor in 2006, is pre­sented to an EMT who is pas­sion­ate about the EMS pro­gram and serves as a role model to all those en­ter­ing the field.

Mur­phy is cred­ited with ex­pand­ing Aetna’s EMS pro­gram through train­ing, in­creas­ing ar­eas of cov­er­age and im­ple­ment­ing many pro­grams that are still run­ning.

The award is pre­sented each year to the EMT who shares Mur­phy’s pas­sion for the EMS pro­gram.

“EMT Sa­van­nah Thomp­son ex­em­pli­fies the Aetna motto of ‘Ser vice for Oth­ers,’” said Aetna Fire Chief Drew Bow­er­son.


Sa­van­nah Thomp­son is the 2018 re­cip­i­ent of the Lt. John P. Mur­phy Me­mo­rial EMT of the Year Award. The award honors those who are pas­sion­ate about the EMS pro­gram and act as pos­i­tive role mod­els to oth­ers en­ter­ing the field.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.