School news

Northwest Arkansas Democrat-Gazette - - BUSINESS & FARM -


Univer­sity of Arkansas at Fort Smith re­cently rec­og­nized stu­dents for their aca­demic per­for­mances with Aca­demic Ex­cel­lence Awards from the univer­sity. The awards honor top stu­dents from many of the univer­sity’s aca­demic pro­grams, with UAFS fac­ulty mem­bers sub­mit­ting nomina­tions for the awards.

Re­cip­i­ents of this year’s awards and their fields of study are: Talia Blan­ton of Bo­nanza, graphic de­sign; Kay­ley Cor­ley of Booneville, politi­cal science; Kyle Jones of Booneville, mu­sic ed­u­ca­tion, in­stru­men­tal; Emily Stub­ble­field of Charleston, crim­i­nal jus­tice; Allyson Frantzen of Coal Hill, bi­ol­ogy; KayLee Trickey of Fayet­teville, math­e­mat­ics with teacher ed­u­ca­tion; Skyler Adams, English; Tyler Van Adam­son of Fort Smith, elec­tri­cal en­gi­neer­ing; Khanh Do of Fort Smith, in­ter­na­tional business; Darin Floyd of Fort Smith, of­fice man­age­ment tech­nol­ogy; Brenda Fuentes of Fort Smith, nurs­ing; Paul Hack­barth of Fort Smith, math­e­mat­ics; El­iz­a­beth Harms of Fort Smith, rhetoric and writ­ing; Kaitlin Jones of Fort Smith, mu­sic; Sara Kin­can­non of Fort Smith, the­ater; Jerome A. Kre­mers of Fort Smith, me­dia com­mu­ni­ca­tion; Ki­aya Lu­per of Fort Smith, stu­dio art; Ni­col­lette Milam of Fort Smith, imag­ing sciences; An­thony Mills of Fort Smith, business ad­min­is­tra­tion; Jared H. Need­ham of Fort Smith, ac­count­ing; Bachkhoa Nguyen of Fort Smith, chem­istry; Ni­cholas O’Dell Red­ding of Fort Smith, mar­ket­ing; LaRissa Parker of Fort Smith, den­tal dy­giene; Je­sus Se­deno-Gu­tier­rez of Fort Smith, Span­ish; Ken­dra Turner of Green For­est, English with teacher ed­u­ca­tion; Kim­ber Ben­nett of Green­wood, sur­gi­cal tech­nol­ogy; An­drew Thomas Bonin of Green­wood, com­puter graph­ics tech­nol­ogy; Tammy Con­row of Green­wood, work­force lead­er­ship; Shawn L. Tack­ett of Green­wood, or­ga­ni­za­tional lead­er­ship; An­drea Turner of Green­wood, para­le­gal stud­ies; Ju­dith Anne Wrappe of Hart­man, art; Bri­anne Smith-Brown of Spring­dale, early child­hood ed­u­ca­tion; Is­rael B. Cuevas of Van Buren, in­for­ma­tion tech­nol­ogy; Michael Kazy of Van Buren, elec­tron­ics tech­nol­ogy; Lela Nick­ell of Van Buren, mu­sic ed­u­ca­tion, vo­cal; Shane Hale of Wal­dron, mid­dle child­hood ed­u­ca­tion.


The 2017 Delta Art Ex­hi­bi­tion re­cently ac­cepted art­work by Univer­sity of Arkansas stu­dent Kel­lie Lehr for the dis­play June 9 through Aug. 27. Lehr is a se­nior paint­ing stu­dent. She re­ceived her first de­gree from the Univer­sity of Arkansas in in­ter­na­tional eco­nomics and business, which al­lowed her to travel and work in both Cal­i­for­nia and Rus­sia. Now all of her past ex­pe­ri­ences are fil­tered through her work as an artist.

A ju­ror will se­lect the art­works to be ex­hib­ited and as­sign the $2,500 grand award and two $750 Delta awards. Ad­di­tion­ally, a $250 Con­tem­po­raries Delta Award was se­lected by the Con­tem­po­raries, an aux­il­iary mem­ber­ship group of the Arkansas Arts Cen­ter.


A num­ber of lo­cal stu­dents re­cently were se­lected to serve as agri­cul­ture am­bas­sadors at Arkansas Tech Univer­sity in Rus­sel­lville. The 15-mem­ber team in­cludes Car­ley Allen of Ozone, Courtney Berry of Fayet­teville, Alex Bow­man of Su­bi­aco, Maddy Carter of Cedarville, Sam Robin­son of Hindsville, Abby San­ders of Clarksvill­e, Kam­ryn San­ders of Low­ell and Chase Willi­ams of Fort Smith.

The am­bas­sadors will work within the de­part­ment to build a sense of com­mu­nity be­tween the stu­dents of the de­part­ment by plan­ning and ex­e­cut­ing events through­out the year. Ad­di­tion­ally, am­bas­sadors serve as ad­vo­cates on be­half of the de­part­ment of agri­cul­ture and the agri­cul­ture in­dus­try.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.