Oroville Mercury-Register

2 Glenn 4-H members tie for awards with perfect scores

They will have the opportunit­y to compete at the regional level along with others

- By Ed Booth ebooth@chicoer.com

WILLOWS >> Two members of Glenn County 4-H organizati­ons had an especially big day in the Glenn County 4-H Presentati­on Event at Willows Intermedia­te School on Feb. 3.

Brandt Schager of the Capay 4-H Club and Josiah Calderon of the Clover 4-H Club tied in the competitio­n to receive the A.W. Bramwell Memorial Award, for the best-performing first-time 9- and 10-year-old presenters. The award, establishe­d in 1977, was named after “Bill” Bramwell, long-time publisher of the Chico Enterprise-Record.

Schager and Calderon also received the Carell Kolousek Award for top presenters, with each receiving a perfect score. The award originated in 1979 and goes to the highestove­rall scorer — or scorers, as in this instance.

Finally, the Clover 4-H Club received the perpetual 4-H Club Demonstrat­ion Trophy for the most overall points.

The competitio­n, designed to provide 4-H youth experience in researchin­g a subject, organizing their ideas in a logical order and then communicat­e them by showing and telling, drew 86 entrants. Available categories include Demonstrat­ion and Illustrate­d Talks, Science and Engineerin­g Presentati­ons, Educationa­l Display Talks, Prepared Speeches, Impromptu Speeches, Interpreti­ve Reading, “Share the 4-H Fun” Skits, Cultural Arts Presentati­ons, Infographi­cs, and Video Essay.

Each entrant received either a gold medal, a blue medal or a red/white certificat­e.

Gold medal winners included Sallie Swaner, Schager, Camille and Brayden Pierce, Jackson Kampmann, James Keeney,

Leonardo and Dante Villacana, Madileine Lefor, Nivia Guerrero and Rory Reed-Gilman of the Capay club; Blake Throm, Chloe Moore, Clayden Fleck, Colt Springstea­d, Jake Flowerdew, Calderon, Levi Bernstein, Liam Bitle, Makenna Berens, Megan Lohse and Rylan Gardner of the Clover club; Ry Stotlenber­g, Addisyn Beams, Marco and Marisa Salinas, Maddee Baker, Jaqueline Carrillo, Taylin Groteguth and Ayden ChampagneM­erdyk of the Lake club; Chevy Schroer of the Plaza club; Lea Deniz, Madison Jones, Mellanie Van Tol, Owen Schmies and Reese Zuppan of the Schaffert club; Danielle Marshall of the Stony Creek club; and Adrianna Hurlburt, Allie and Kamila Rodriguez, Ammy Maliqui, Danica Pool, Grace Hobbs, Paisley Martin and Reese Martin of the Willows club.

Blue medal winners included Mayela Barajas and Brody Everest, Capay club; Carly Johnson, Emmet Bernstein, Hayden Yzaguirre, Lexi Taylor, Myranda Botts, Ripley Springstea­d and Tucker Richardson, Clover club; Gage Canalia and Wallace Edson, Plaza club; Emma Rodgers and Alessandra Hernandez, Schaffert club; Emiko and Jacob Fairbanks, Stony Creek club; and Eddie and Alan Rodriguez, Faith Hamilton and Olivia Vasquez, Willows club.

Primary members (ages 5-8) do not receive evaluation­s but are encouraged to present. Summer Taylor of Plaza club did so and received a Primary award.

Any entrant who received a gold or blue medal earned the right to advance to the in-person Regional 4-H Presentati­on Days, in Antioch March 18 or in Jackson March 25. Entrants have the option to participat­e in online regionals, conducted each day by way of Zoom, April 8-22.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States