Ju­nior Achieve­ment In­spir­ing Suc­cess Awards

Pittsburgh Post-Gazette - - Style & Seen -

#SEENIn­spir­ing: There was no bet­ter way to spend Fri­day af­ter­noon than at the Ju­nior Achieve­ment Young Pro­fes­sion­als Lun­cheon and In­spir­ing Suc­cess Awards cer­e­mony. Fi­nal­ists and guests from all over the Pitts­burgh com­mu­nity came to share their sto­ries about the im­por­tance of ser­vice and what in­spires them. “It was such an honor to be nom­i­nated,” said Heather Tomko, fi­nal­ist in the health care cat­e­gory. “It is im­por­tant that we raise aware­ness of the need for dis­abil­ity ac­cess and ad­vo­cacy. The lack of ac­cess im­pacts ev­ery as­pect of life. When we talk about in­clu­sion, this com­mu­nity must be a part of that con­ver­sa­tion.”

The pas­sion for in­clu­sion could be felt through­out the event, as echoed by Keyva Clark, win­ner of the Richard S. Caligu­iri Pub­lic Ser­vice Award: “It is im­por­tant that the Ju­nior Achieve­ment hosts events like this to show Pitts­burgh that young pro­fes­sion­als are work­ing and thriv­ing here. We want to pro­vide op­por­tu­ni­ties to high­light these tal­ented peo­ple who strive to make Pitts­burgh bet­ter for all of us.” Congratulations to all the fi­nal­ists: Busi­ness and Fi­nance win­ner Jen­nifer Bibb His­dorf and fi­nal­ists Katharine Perry, Se­rina Green, Tom Don­ahue; Health Care win­ner David Bubas and fi­nal­ist Ar­jun Hat­tian­gadi; Con­struc­tion and Real Es­tate win­ner Ge­orge Robin­son and fi­nal­ists Do­minic Alan Janidas, Matt Pau­vlinch, Shawn Smith; Engi­neer­ing, Sci­ence and Pro­duc­tion win­ner Zachary Brown and fi­nal­ists Grant Cupp, Josh Hick­man; IT win­ner Ben Stoviak and fi­nal­ists Teresa Shine, Ty Brown; Non­profit win­ner Re­becca Lukens and fi­nal­ists Alexan­dra Kozak, Jean-Pierre Nsan­z­abera; and Ser­vice Award fi­nal­ists Corey O’Con­nor and Zach Malone. To nom­i­nate some­one for next year’s awards, email aca­[email protected]­ernpa.org.

#SEEN: Em­cee Christy Uf­fel­man, speaker Al­legheny County Coun­cil­man Tom Baker, board chair Jana Volante Wal­shak, Danielle Katz, Nate Wadding, Adam Ca­gle, Gabriel Gold­man, Shelby We­ber, Troy Fine and Rob­bie Zarem­berg.

From left: Fi­nal­ists: Do­minic Alan Janidas, Ben Stoviak, Shawn Smith, David Bubas and Zachary Brown.

From left: Gabriel Gold­man, Shelby We­ber, Troy Fine and Rob­bie Zarem­berg.

Front row from left: Fi­nal­ists: Jen­nifer Bibb His­dorf, Alexan­dra Kozak and Se­rina Green. Back row: Fi­nal­ists: Josh Hick­man, Ty Brown and Ge­orge Robin­son II.

Dar­rell Sapp/Post-Gazette pho­tos

From left: Fi­nal­ists Re­becca Lukens, Jean-Pierre Nsan­z­abera, Grant Cupp, Keyva Clark and Heather Tomko.

From left: Adam Ca­gle, Christy Uf­fel­man and Tom Baker.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.