Univer­sity of Texas

Poets and Writers - - Grants & Awards -


Fic­tion writer Brian Van Reet of Austin, Texas, and non­fic­tion writer Michelle Gar­cía of New York City each won a 2018 Dobie Paisano Fel­low­ship. Van Reet re­ceived the Ralph A. John­ston Me­mo­rial Fel­low­ship, which in­cludes a monthly stipend of $6,250 and a four-month stay at Dobie Paisano’s ranch, lo­cated four­teen miles south­west of Austin. Gar­cía re­ceived the Jesse H. Jones Writ­ing Fel­low­ship, which in­cludes a monthly stipend of $3,000 and a six-month stay at Paisano’s ranch. The an­nual fel­low­ships, cospon­sored by the Texas In­sti­tute of Let­ters, are given to writ­ers who are na­tive Tex­ans, who have lived in Texas for at least three years, or who have pub­lished sig­nif­i­cant work with a Texas sub­ject. The next dead­line is Jan­uary 15, 2019. Univer­sity of Texas, Dobie Paisano Fel­low­ships, Grad­u­ate School, 110 In­ner Cam­pus Drive, Stop G0400, Austin, TX 78712.


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.