Random Lengths News

News Passing of an Era: Walker’s Café Closes

-

Walker’s Café closed its doors for the last time last month. The restaurant is owned by Richard Brummett, the son of Bessie Mae Petersen, the original owner of Walker’s Café. Brummett took over the restaurant in 1996 after his mother died, allowing a series of general managers to operate the unofficial landmark while he continued to live in Yuba, Calif.

Motorcycle enthusiast­s have been coming to Walker’s Café pretty much since it first opened in 1944. The café was off the beaten path, with no through traffic, because years before Paseo del Mar had taken a dive off the cliff into the Pacific.

Bessie and Ray Walker owned Walker’s Café. Bessie Logan was born and raised in central Oklahoma and moved to San Pedro when she was 22 years old. In past interviews with Random

Lengths, she claimed to have waitressed in every restaurant or coffee shop in the Beacon Street area of the San Pedro Waterfront. Bessie was the waitress, Ray the cook. The Walker’s warmth, friendline­ss and good food was soon discovered by locals.

The café has been seen in movies such as

Whatever Happened to the Black Dahlia? and

Chinatown.

As a side note, the iconic Walker’s Café store sign featuring two mermaids has gone missing. It’s not clear if Mr. Brummett or a Walker’s Café enthusiast took it home as a keepsake.

 ?? ??

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States