COL­LEGE FOOT­BALL NOTES Ok­la­homa QB AP player of year


Richmond Times-Dispatch - - SCOREBOARD -

Kyler Mur­ray is The As­so­ci­ated Press col­lege foot­ball player of the year, the sec­ond straight Ok­la­homa quar­ter­back and fifth over­all to win the award since it was es­tab­lished in 1998.

Mur­ray beat out Alabama quar­ter­back Tua Tago­v­ailoa on 56 bal­lots sub­mit­ted by AP col­lege foot­ball poll vot­ers and an­nounced Thurs­day. Ohio State quar­ter­back Dwayne Hask­ins Jr. was third.

“It’s hum­bling and an honor to be named AP player of the year, to be men­tioned in the same realm as a lot of great play­ers, a lot of hall of famers,” Mur­ray said. “It’s a spe­cial deal for me and hope­fully I can con­tinue to make my fam­ily and team­mates proud.”

Mur­ray re­ceived 39 first­place votes and a to­tal of 145 points. Tago­v­ailoa re­ceived 13 first-place votes (117 points) and Hask­ins was listed first on four bal­lots (55 points).

All three are fi­nal­ists for the Heis­man Tro­phy, which will be pre­sented Satur­day night in New York. Mur­ray and Tago­v­ailoa will face each other in the Col­lege Foot­ball Play­off, when No. 1 Alabama plays No. 4 Ok­la­homa at the Orange Bowl semi­fi­nal on Dec. 29.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.