Richmond Times-Dispatch

Wilson nominated for Man of the Year award


In a year impacted by a pandemic and social unrest, NFL players have spoken out and stepped up. On Thursday, the league revealed the 32 finalists for the Walter Payton Man of the Year award, and each of them has played a significan­t role away from the field.

The Payton award, to be presented during Super Bowl week at the NFL Honors television show when The Associated Press reveals its individual award winners, recognizes an NFL player for outstandin­g community service activities off the field, as well as excellence on the field. It was establishe­d in 1970 and renamed in 1999 after the late Hall of Fame running back.

All 32 nominees will receive a $40,000 donation in their name to their charity of choice. The winner of the award will receive a $250,000 donation to the charity of his choice.

The Seahawks nominee, quarterbac­k Russell Wilson (Collegiate) and his wife, singer Ciara, have been leading philanthro­pists in the Pacific Northwest.

“I think it’s so important to give back and to serve, because God has given me an amazing opportunit­y to love and make a difference,” Wilson said. “It’s been really important for Ciara and me, especially with everything that’s happened in 2020, to step up and try to make a difference in areas like racism, social injustice, and food insecurity and to be able to impact a family that is facing tough challenges.

“Since I got here in 2012, I understood there was an opportunit­y to use my platform to love, serve, and give back. That’s been one of the core principles of life that my parents taught me.”

Current players who have won the award are DrewBrees, Thomas Davis, Larry Fitzgerald, Jason Witten, J. J. Watt and Calais Campbell.

 ??  ?? Wilson

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA