Maxwell Award to Alabama’s Tago­v­ailoa

San Francisco Chronicle - - COLLEGES - AS­SO­CI­ATED PRESS

Alabama’s Tua Tago­v­ailoa won his sec­ond ma­jor player of the year honor, tak­ing the Maxwell Award on Thurs­day over two other fi­nal­ists: fel­low quar­ter­backs Kyler Mur­ray of Ok­la­homa and Will Grier of West Vir­ginia.

Tago­v­ailoa also won the Walter Camp Player of the Year. Ear­lier in the day, Mur­ray was named As­so­ci­ated Press col­lege foot­ball Player of the Year and won the Davey O’Brien Award as the na­tion’s top quar­ter­back.

Tago­v­ailoa, Mur­ray, and Ohio State QB Dwayne Hask­ins, are the fi­nal­ists for the Heis­man Tro­phy, which will be pre­sented Satur­day in New York.

The last five win­ners of the Walter Camp have gone on to win the Heis­man, but only five Heis­man win­ners have failed to win AP Player of the Year since the award started in 1998.

Other col­lege foot­ball award win­ners in­cluded:

⏩ Ken­tucky line­backer Josh Allen (Chuck Bed­narik Award, as the na­tion’s top de­fen­sive player);

⏩ Alabama de­fen­sive tackle Quin­nen Wil­liams (Out­land Tro­phy, top in­te­rior line­man);

⏩ Texas A&M’s Braden Mann (Ray Guy Award, top punter);

⏩ Alabama’s Jerry Jeudy (Bilet­nikoff Award, top wide re­ceiver);

⏩ Ge­or­gia cor­ner­back Dean­dre Baker (Thorpe Award, top de­fen­sive back);

⏩ Wis­con­sin’s Jonathan Taylor (Doak Walker Award, top run­ning back);

⏩ Syra­cuse’s An­dre Szmyt (Lou Groza Award, top kicker).

More col­lege foot­ball:

Mary­land hired Alabama of­fen­sive co­or­di­na­tor Mike Lock­sley as its head coach.

Lock­sley suc­ceeds in­terim head coach Matt Canada, who ran the pro­gram this sea­son af­ter D.J. Durkin was placed on ad­min­is­tra­tive leave Aug. 11 as in­ves­ti­ga­tions were con­ducted into the cir­cum­stances sur­round­ing the June 13 death of of­fen­sive line­man Jor­dan McNair and al­le­ga­tions of bul­ly­ing and in­tim­i­da­tion by Durkin and staff mem­bers.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.