Heis­man Tro­phy: Stock soared for first-time start­ing QBs

Texarkana Gazette - - SPORTS - By Ralph D. Russo

NEW YORK—Tua Tago­v­ailoa rolled across the floor of the New York Stock Ex­change on a black scooter with a lit­tle Alabama sticker on the front, his sprained left an­kle in a gray plas­tic boot, safely propped up as he pushed off with his right foot.

The Crim­son Tide quar­ter­back and fel­low Heis­man Tro­phy fi­nal­ists Kyler Mur­ray of Ok­la­homa and Dwayne Hask­ins of Ohio State were on Wall Street on Fri­day to ring the closing bell on a day the Dow Jones In­dus­trial Av­er­age closed down 558 points.

Stock for the three firstyear starters has been soar­ing this sea­son. A year ago they were sec­ond on their team’s depth chart. On Satur­day, one of them will win the Heis­man Tro­phy.

Tago­v­ailoa picked up where he left off in the sec­ond half of last sea­son’s na­tional cham­pi­onship game vic­tory against Ge­or­gia to lead the top-ranked Crim­son Tide back to the play­off as a sopho­more. Hask­ins, a third-year sopho­more, stepped in af­ter the

de­par­ture of a four-year starter and smashed Ohio State and Big Ten pass­ing records.

Mur­ray, a fourth-year junior, re­placed last sea­son’s Heis­man win­ner and had an even bet­ter sea­son than his pre­de­ces­sor. Mur­ray waited the long­est to fi­nally take over a team, trans­fer­ring from Texas A&M af­ter a rocky fresh­man sea­son, tak­ing a red­shirt year to sat­isfy NCAA trans­fer rules and then back­ing up Baker May­field in 2017.

“I think sit­ting down and watch­ing is kind of im­por­tant,” Mur­ray said. “I know Dwayne got to sit and watch. Tua ob­vi­ously got to sit and watch. I think it just helps you with your growth and ma­tur­ing on and off the field. I think that’s a big part.”

For the 16th time in the last 19 years, a quar­ter­back will win col­lege foot­ball’s most cov­eted in­di­vid­ual award and that should not be a sur­prise this sea­son. This has been the year of the quar­ter­back, with FBS records for com­ple­tion per­cent­age, yards per pass and yards pass­ing per game all within range as bowl sea­son ar­rives. For the first time since 2008, when Ok­la­homa’s Sam Brad­ford, Texas’ Colt McCoy and Florida’s Tim Te­bow were the Heis­man fi­nal­ists, only quar­ter­backs were in­vited to New York for the tro­phy pre­sen­ta­tion.

That sea­son, the Heis­man fi­nal­ists com­bined to pass for 9,726 yards and 100 touch­downs, com­plet­ing 70.9 per­cent of their passes at 9.1 yards per at­tempt. This sea­son’s fi­nal­ists, each still with at least one more game, have passed for 11,986 yards and 124 touch­downs, com­plet­ing 69.7 per­cent of their passes at 10.6 yards per at­tempt.

AP Photo/Ralph Russo

■ Heis­man Tro­phy fi­nal­ists, from left, Dwayne Hask­ins, from Ohio State, Kyler Mur­ray, of Ok­la­homa, and Tua Tago­v­ailoa, from Alabama, pose Fri­day with the tro­phy at the New York Stock Ex­change in New York.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.