Five PAC play­ers se­lected as Mini Maxwell Award re­cip­i­ents

The Boyertown Area Times - - SPORTS - By Thomas Nash [email protected]­tu­ry­media. com @Thomas_Nash10 on Twitter

Maxwell Foot­ball Club Pres­i­dent Mark Dianno an­nounced the 2018 Mini Max High School Award win­ners for the state of Pennsylvania on Wed­nes­day night.

The sixty-three play­ers se­lected are from schools lo­cated in Dis­tricts 1,3,11 and 12 in the east­ern half of the state. Play­ers were nom­i­nated by their coaches through­out the 2018 sea­son and were eval­u­ated based on a cri­te­ria that in­cludes foot­ball per­for­mance, aca­demics, and com­mu­nity ser­vice.

Among the se­lec­tions were five from the Pi­o­neer Ath­letic Con­fer­ence in­clud­ing Owen J. Roberts of­fen­sive/de­fen­sive line­man Ai­dan Hay­ward, Potts­grove de­fen­sive end/ tight end Ryan Bodo­lus, Perkiomen Val­ley cor­ner­back/wide re­ceiver Austin Row­ley, Spring-Ford in­side line­backer Nick Delro­mano and Up­per Me­rion of­fen­sive/de­fen­sive line­man Mark Pi­cariello.

Hay­ward fin­ished his ca­reer as the Wild­cats’ all­time leader with 25-1/2 sacks. A three-year var­sity starter, Hay­ward posted a ca­reer­high 12 sacks dur­ing his se­nior sea­son and passed 2017 grad Nick Du­li­akas who had pre­vi­ously set the mark with 21 ca­reer sacks.

Hay­ward was a force on de­fense for an OJR team that let up just 17 points per game with two shutouts. On of­fense, he helped pave the way for Mar­cus Martin to rush for 1,049 yards (sec­ond most in the PAC) and nine touch­downs this sea­son.

Bodo­lus fin­ished his se­nior sea­son with 20 sacks at the fore­front of a stingy Potts­grove de­fense as the Fal­cons picked up their first PIAA Class 6A play­off win in pro­gram his­tory ear­lier this month. For the year, Potts­grove posted four shutouts and held op­pos­ing teams to just 58.9 yards rush­ing prior to the sec­ond round of the state play­offs against Beth­le­hem Catholic.

Of­fen­sively, Bodo­lus fin­ished with 13 catches for 222 yards and a pair of scores, in­clud­ing Potts­grove’s lone of­fen­sive touch­down against Beth­le­hem Catholic last Fri­day night.

Row­ley had a huge part in Perkiomen Val­ley win­ning its third straight PAC cham­pi­onship. He fin­ished the sea­son with six de­fen­sive in­ter­cep­tions — sec­ond best in the PAC — and thrived of­fen­sively as the Vik­ings’ No. 2 re­ceiver. For the year, he pulled in 28 catches for 477 yards and five touch­downs as part of Perk Val­ley’s pass-heavy of­fense.

Delro­mano was one of sev­eral se­niors lead­ers for Spring-Ford’s de­fense, which lim­it­ing the op­po­si­tion to just over 19 points per game. The Rams’ big­gest strength de­fen­sively was against the run where they lim­ited of­fenses to 106.4 yards per game prior to their Dis­trict 1-6A play­off matchup against Down­ing­town East.

Af­ter sit­ting out his en­tire ju­nior sea­son with a torn PCL, LCL and menis­cus in­jury suf­fered prior to the reg­u­lar sea­son, Pi­cariello made up for lost time as a se­nior. Pi­cariello made the jump from run­ning back to the of­fen­sive line and helped lead the Vik­ings to a 6-5 cam­paign this past sea­son where they earned a spot in the Dis­trict 1-5A play­offs com­ing off a one-win cam­paign in 2017.

For the year, the Vik­ings let up un­der 200 to­tal yards per game (sec­ond best in the PAC) and held teams to just 17 points per game. On of­fense, Pi­cariello helped pave the way for run­ning back Zaire Sav­age to rush for 881 yards and five touch­downs while quar­ter­back Dale Clay­ton threw for 1,085 yards and five touch­downs.

The Mini Max Award re­cip­i­ents will be hon­ored at a din­ner to be held on Thurs­day Jan­uary 10, 2019 at the Drex­el­brook Cater­ing Ball­room in Drexel Hill. The awards din­ner is open to the pub­lic and tick­ets are avail­able on the club’s web­site www.maxwell­foot­ball­

The Maxwell Foot­ball Club will se­lect one player from the group of Mini Max win­ners as the win­ner of the Pennsylvania High School Player of the Year, an­nounced at the Jan. 10 awards din­ner.

For the 7th year the Maxwell Foot­ball Club will also host a New Jer­sey Mini Max Awards Din­ner which will be held on Sun­day Jan­uary 20th at the St. David the King Hall in Prince­ton Junc­tion, N.J. The Maxwell Foot­ball Club will also honor play­ers from the state of Delaware with Mini Max Awards as part of the Delaware In­ter­scholas­tic Foot­ball Coaches As­so­ci­a­tion din­ner in late Jan­uary.

The win­ner of the Pennsylvania, New Jer­sey and Delaware Player of the Year awards will be the can­di­dates for the club’s 33rd Jim Henry Award as the Out­stand­ing Player in the re­gion. The win­ner of the Jim Henry Award will be an­nounced as part of the Maxwell Foot­ball Club’s Na­tional Awards Gala which will be held on March 8, 2019 at the Trop­i­cana Casino Resort in At­lantic City, N.J. The Maxwell Foot­ball Club will also present its col­le­giate and pro­fes­sional awards at this event.

Mini Max Award Win­ners

Name School Keith Hu­doka Abing­ton Gavin Stout An­nville-Cleona Con­nor Bishop Arch­bishop Wood Bran­don Ge­orge Berks Catholic Dal­ton Dad­dona Beth­le­hem Catholic Lawrence Richard­son Bishop McDe­vitt Nasim Cooper Bonner-Prendie Evan O’Donnell Cen­tral Bucks East Matt Nor­ris Cen­tral Bucks South Austin Flee­gal Cen­tral Dauphin East Cade Pribula Cen­tral York Mar­cus Win­field Chel­tenham Aaron Young Coatesville Alex MacKen­zie Con­rad Weiser Pa­trick Garwo Con­well Egan Dy­lan Ces­lak Coun­cil Rock North Nick Gallo Coun­cil Rock South Jared Plessinger Cum­ber­land Val­ley Ray­mond Chris­tas Dal­las­town Area Luke Davis Down­ing­town East Ethan Parvel Em­maus Tris­tan Wheeler Free­dom Eli­jah Wroten Ger­man­town Academy Broc Grosser Hal­i­fax Area Mark Custer Hat­boro Hor­sham Cor­mac Houpt James Buchanan Cade Laf­ferty Jenk­in­town Dy­lan Dai­ley Jim Thorpe Sean Daly LaSalle Col­lege Trevor Har­ris Lib­erty Matt O’Con­nor Lower Me­rion Keith Maguire Malvern Prep Tyler Fick Man­heim Cen­tral Jack Ro­den­berger Man­heim Town­ship Colin Ferry Marple New­town Daniel Briggs Mas­tery Char­ter Corey Joyce Neshaminy Kristo­pher Tay­lor New Hope Sole­bury Jake Wal­ton North Penn Cole DeFranco Notre Dame Ai­dan Hay­ward Owen J. Roberts Ethan Brader Pal­isades Adam Pis­ton Park­land Todd Barr Pen Ar­gyl Area Jonathan Post Pen­nridge Austin Row­ley Perkiomen Val­ley Ryan Bodo­lus Potts­grove Nick Levin­sky Quak­er­town Eli­jah Workinger Red Lion Area Ja­cob Kamp Sal­is­bury Tim Weaver Sau­con Val­ley Austin Ho­man Schuylkill Haven Austin Moyer Soud­eron Area Eric Glass Jr. Spring Grove Area Max Perry Spring­field Town­ship Nick DelRo­mano Spring-Ford Zachary Bouggess St. Joseph’s Prep Jack Pur­cell Epis­co­pal Academy Asim Richard­son The Haver­ford School Zach Gardner Twin Val­ley Mark Pi­cariello Up­per Me­rion Area Michael Gray West Ch­ester East Ed­ward Saydee Wil­liam Penn Char­ter

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.