Dis­trict se­lects eight award fi­nal­ists

The Bradenton Herald - - News - BY GIUSEPPE SABELLA [email protected]­ton.com Giuseppe Sabella: 941-745-7072; @gsabella.

Eight em­ploy­ees are vy­ing for two awards in the School Dis­trict of Manatee County.

The win­ners will be an­nounced at this year’s Ex­cel­lence in Ed­u­ca­tion Awards, slated for 7 p.m. on March 6. Manatee Tech­ni­cal Col­lege will host the cer­e­mony at its main cam­pus, 6305 State Road 70 E., in Braden­ton.

A panel of judges re­viewed 56 nom­i­na­tions, each cho­sen from a pool of nearly 350 sub­mis­sions, ac­cord­ing to a news re­lease.

Four fi­nal­ists are el­i­gi­ble for Ed­u­ca­tor of the Year:

Richard Daenell, a

• busi­ness ed­u­ca­tion teacher at Lee Mid­dle School.

Stephanie Davis, a

• fifth-grade teacher at Sea Breeze El­e­men­tary School.

De­bra Hart­line, a

• read­ing teacher at Braden River High School.

Diane Stead, a fifth­grade

• teacher at Free­dom El­e­men­tary School.

An­other four fi­nal­ists are el­i­gi­ble for Sup­port Em­ployee of the Year:

An­gelie Gra­ham, an

• em­ployee ben­e­fits as­sis­tant at the School Sup­port Cen­ter.

Amanda Keeney, the

• cafe­te­ria man­ager at Myakka El­e­men­tary School.

Va­lerie Meri­dan, the

• front of­fice clerk at Johnson-Wake­land School of In­ter­na­tional Bac­calau­re­ate.

Robert Rice, the head

• cus­to­dian at Tara El­e­men­tary School.

The cho­sen ed­u­ca­tor will qual­ify for Florida’s Teacher of the Year, an award co-spon­sored by Macy’s and the state Depart­ment of Ed­u­ca­tion.

One sup­port em­ployee will ad­vance to Florida’s School-Re­lated Em­ployee of the Year com­pe­ti­tion.

In her pre­pared state­ment, Su­per­in­ten­dent Cyn­thia Saun­ders ac­knowl­edged the fi­nal­ists for their hard work and ded­i­ca­tion.

“We look for­ward to hon­or­ing these em­ploy­ees for ev­ery­thing they have done for our stu­dents and schools at the Ex­cel­lence in Ed­u­ca­tion Awards in March,” she said.

(From top left) An­gelie Gra­ham, Va­lerie Meri­dan, Amanda Keeney, Robert Rice, Richard Daenell, Stephanie Davis, Diane Stead and De­bra Hart­line.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.