The Columbus Dispatch

Wake Forest’s Clawson, Pitt’s Pickett earn ACC top honors


GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Atlantic Coast Conference has named Wake Forest's Dave Clawson as its coach of the year and Pittsburgh quarterbac­k Kenny Pickett as its player of the year.

The league released its individual awards this week. Pickett was also named offensive player of the year, while the list includes Florida State defensive end Jermaine Johnson II as defensive player of the year, Miami quarterbac­k Tyler Van Dyke as rookie of the year and offensive rookie of the year, and Clemson safety Andrew Mukuba as defensive rookie of the year.

Clawson received 49 of 64 votes from a 50-member panel of media members and league head coaches. Pittsburgh's Pat Narduzzi, whose 17thranked Panthers face Clawson's 18thranked Demon Deacons in Saturday's ACC championsh­ip game, was second with 10 votes.

Clawson is the ninth Wake Forest coach to win the honor and first since Jim Grobe in 2006, the last year the Demon Deacons won an ACC title.

Pickett claimed 52 of 64 votes for player of the year, easily outdistanc­ing

Virginia quarterbac­k Brennan Armstrong (five) and Wake Forest quarterbac­k Sam Hartman (three).

Pickett is the second Pittsburgh player to win those two awards, following running back James Conner in 2014.

The Associated Press will release its all-acc honors Monday.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from United States