Flores, Janisch win in­door TQ Midget ti­tles in Al­len­town

The Community Connection - - SPORTS - By Ernie Sax­ton For Dig­i­tal First Me­dia

AL­LEN­TOWN >> Ryan Flores, of Trout­man, N.C., raced to the 40-lap TQ Midget fea­ture race vic­tory Satur­day night in­side Al­len­town, PA’s PPL Cen­ter. Flores took the lead from Kyle Rein­hardt on the tenth lap of the Iron­ton Tele­phone Pre­sented by BELFOR head­liner and raced to the ex­cit­ing win ahead of Scott Kreut­ter, Ed­die Strada, Erick Ru­dolph and Earl Paules, who started the race from 23rd start­ing po­si­tion.

Flores was ac­com­pa­nied by his wife and 17 month old daugh­ter to post race cel­e­bra­tions.

“Jimmy Blewett, who has worked on my car for years, made a bunch of changes on the car be­tween Fri­day and Satur­day and it paid off,” Flores said.

Andy Jankowiak came back from an overnight mo­tor change and a midrace penalty to fin­ish sixth with Ryan Tid­man, Tyler Thomp­son, like Jankowiak re­bound­ing from a penalty, early race leader Rein­hardt, and Justin Bon­signore who fin­ished tenth.

In the com­pan­ion 20-lap Sling­shot main event, Jared Sil­fee took the lead three laps into the fea­ture af­ter dis­pos­ing of front row starters Matt Mertz and Michael Lapicki. He then with­stood Mertz’ and Lapicki’s fol­lowup chal­lenges to win. Brett Bieber and Dy­lan Koch com­pleted the top five.

Kyle Herve, Tyler Truex, Seth Spayd, Kurt Bet­tler and Matt Deala­man com­pleted the top ten in the Sling­shot head­liner.

Four TQ Midget heat races that helped set the field for the head­liner were won by Flores, Matt Janisch, who had won the Fri­day night PPL Cen­ter race, Kreut­ter and Joey Payne. Last Chance TQ BMains were won by Matt Roselli and An­thony Se­sely.

Sling­shot pre­lims went to Mertz, Lapicki and Sil­fee with the B Main by An­thony Rais­ner.

The In­door Auto Rac­ing Se­ries Pre­sented By VP Race Fu­els scene now shifts to Board­walk Hall in At­lantic City, NJ for the run­ning of NAPA Auto Rac­ing Week­end on Jan­uary 25 and 26, 2019.

Janisch takes top prize on Night 1

AL­LEN­TOWN >> Matt Janisch, an ac­com­plished multi-time Three Quar­ter Midget Out­door cham­pion and a peren­nial con­tender for In­door top lau­rels, raced to a pop­u­lar win Fri­day night in­side PPL Cen­ter.

Janisch, of Nazareth, grabbed the lead on lap 24 with a bold in­side move that car­ried him un­der Tyler Thomp­son, who led the first 23 cir­cuits. Janisch drove a car owned by Roger Ma­han Motorsports that was built on a Lafler chas­sis.

Once in front, Janisch had to weather nu­mer­ous restarts and some lapped traf­fic is­sues to pre­serve the win. Erick Ru­dolph ended up sec­ond af­ter best­ing Ryan Flores dur­ing the race. Justin Bon­signore, who never took a time trial lap, had to start last in his heat race and squeezed into the A Main field with a suc­cess­ful B Main ef­fort, marched from a 21st place start to fin­ish third.

Flores set­tled for fourth and Scott Kreut­ter bat­tled his way through two early race pit stops to fin­ish fifth.

Chad Jones, Kyle Lick, Joey Payne, An­thony Payne and Pat Bealer com­pleted the top ten in the 24-car, 40-lap fea­ture.

In the 20-lap, 20-car Matt Janisch raises the win­ner’s check af­ter win­ning the in­door TQ midget fea­ture at the PPL Cen­ter in Al­len­town on Jan. 4.

Champ Kart co-fea­ture, Bran­don Rusczek of Walling­ford, Conn., led all the way in the Kart A Main. Tyler Brown raced to sec­ond with a late race charge with Ryan Ken­dall, JJ Pa­covich, and John Berger trail­ing.

Tim Buck­wal­ter set fast time among the 48 TQ Midget en­tries on hand. Briggs Dan­ner, fea­ture win­ner Janisch, Tyler Thomp­son and Earl Paules won the four TQ heat races. Timmy Solomito and Kyle Lick won the pair of B-Mains.

Champ Kart heats were won by Berger, Rusczek, and Jordan Mo­di­ano. Zachary Asklar won the B-Main.



TQ Midget Fea­ture (40 Laps): 1. Ryan Flores, 2. Scott Kreut­ter, 3. Ed­die Strada, 4. Erick Ru­dolph, 5. Earl Paules, 6. Andy Jankowiak, 7. Ryan Tid­man, 8. Tyler Thomp­son, 9. Kyle Rein­hardt, 10. Justin Bon­signore, 11. Matt Roselli 12. Tim Buck­wal­ter, 13. Lou Cic­coni, 14. Briggs Dan­ner, 15. Jonathan Reid, 16. Chad Jones, 17. An­thony Se­sely, 18. Timmy Cata­lano, 19. An­drew Molleur, 20. Matt Janisch, 21. Tommy Cata­lano, 22. Joey Payne, 23. An­drew Nye, 24. An­thony Payne.

Sling­shot Fea­ture (20 Laps): 1. Jared Sil­fee, 2. Matthew Mertz, 3. Michael Lapicki, 4. Brett Bieber, 5. Dy­lan Hoch, 6. Kyle Herve, 7. Tyler Truex, 8. Seth Spayd,

9. Kurt Bet­tler, 10. Matt Deala­man, 11. Austin Sil­fee, 12. Neil Rutt III 13. Dakota Kessler, 14. Brett Put­nam, 15. Billy Both,

16. Bryan Oshee, 17. Cody Kline, 18. An­thony Rais­ner, 19. Cody Kohler, 20. Paul Hartwig, Jr.


TQ Midget Fea­ture (40 Laps): 1. Matt Janisch, 2. Erick Ru­dolph, 3. Justin Bon­signore, 4. Ryan Flores, 5. Scott Kreut­ter,

6. Chad Jones, 7. Kyle Lick, 8. Joey Payne,

9. An­thony Payne, 10. Pat Bealer, 11. Tim Buck­wal­ter, 12. Briggs Dan­ner, 13. Brett Con­kling, 14. Ed­die Strada, 15. Jonathan Reid, 16. Matthew Roselli, 17. Tyler Thomp­son, 18. Earl Paules, 19. Timmy Cata­lano, 20. Andy Jankowiak,

21. An­thony Se­sely, 22. Keith Rocco, 23. An­drew Nye, 24. Timmy Solomito. Champ Kart Fea­ture (20 Laps): 1. Bran­don Rusczek, 2. Tyler Brown, 3. Ryan Ken­dall, 4. JJ Pa­covich, 5. John Berger,

6. Jordan Mo­di­ano, 7. Zachary Asklar,

8. Do­minic Roselli, 9. Todd Cren­shaw,

10. Stephen Beat­tie, 11. Mike Perry, 12. TJ Reed, 13. Tyler Cata­lano, 14. James Shutts, 15. Tay­lor Caprara, 16. Brian DeCosta, 17. Chris Hirt, 18. Matt An­drews,

19. Gary Bo­zowski, 20. EJ Holz.


Dy­lan Hoch, cen­ter, poses with the Scrap­per award check from the Sling­shot race at the Al­len­town in­door race on Jan. 5.


Ryan Flores leads Erick Ru­dolph and the field dur­ing the Satur­day in­door fea­ture at PPL Cen­ter in Al­len­town.


Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.