City vot­ers to pick lead­ers Tues­day

The Covington News - - FRONT PAGE - David Cle­mons dclemons@cov­

Vot­ers in Cov­ing­ton, Ox­ford, Por­terdale and So­cial Cir­cle will choose City Coun­cil mem­bers in elec­tions Tues­day.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. un­til 7 p.m. Tues­day in all the cities for the non­par­ti­san elec­tions.

Cov­ing­ton vot­ers will see two con­tested elec­tions for City Coun­cil slots.

In Post 1, East Ward, in­cum­bent Coun­cil­man Chris Smith faces a chal­lenge from Susie Keck.

In Post 3, West Ward, Coun­cil­woman Ocie Franklin drew op­po­si­tion from An­thony Hen­der­son and Jef­frey John­son.

Coun­cil­woman Hawnethia Wil­liams is un­op­posed for re-elec­tion in Post 2, West Ward.

Vot­ing in Cov­ing­ton will take place at City Hall, 2194 Emory St. NW.

In Por­terdale, vot­ers in Posts 3, 4 and 5 will get their say.

Coun­cil­man Tim Sav­age faces a chal­lenge from Ryan Bar­rett, chair­man of the city’s Plan­ning and Zon­ing Com­mis­sion, in Post 3. In Post 4, Coun­cil­man Mike Harper faces Marvin Moore. It’s Coun­cil­man Low­ell Cham­bers against Rick Vaida in Post 5.

Por­terdale vot­ing is at City Hall, 2800 Main St.

Ox­ford has one con­tested race, in Post 6, where Dr. Melvin Baker chose not to run. Mike Be­saw and Jeff Wear­ing are run­ning for the open seat.

In­cum­bents David Eady (Post 4) and Jim Wind­ham (Post 5) are run­ning un­op­posed for re-elec­tion.

One mayor is as­sured of a new term: Gregg Ell­wanger in New­born drew no op­po­si­tion. New­born City Coun­cil mem­bers Martha Ell­wanger (Post 4) and Wayne Sams (Post 5) were un­op­posed as well.

No elec­tions were nec­es­sary in Mans­field with Ash­lan E. Trout­man (Post 3), Bret A. Dunn (Post 4) and Christo­pher Bryan Hale (Post 5) qual­i­fy­ing.

So­cial Cir­cle will have races for City Coun­cil and Board of Ed­u­ca­tion.

In Coun­cil Dis­trict 1, Adol­phus Gaither, Wil­liam T. Haney and Traysa Cody Price com­pete for a seat now held by Scott Simp­kins. Mayor Pro Tem David Keener is un­op­posed in Dis­trict 3.

John Cal­la­han is un­op­posed for the role of school board chair­man.

Four women — Kim­ber­ley B. Don­ald­son, Jes­sica L. Hutch­e­son, Cassie D. Jones and To­nia Lump­kin — are part of a spe­cial elec­tion to fill Sin­clair Grey’s for­mer school board seat in Dis­trict 1.

Larry Cross has filled the board seat since Grey moved out of the dis­trict ear­lier this year. Pa­trick Dally was ap­pointed to fill Cal­la­han’s old Dis­trict 3 seat.

Dis­trict 2 school board mem­ber Jamie P. Peter­son faces a chal­lenge from An­to­nio Rico Jack­son, and Vice Chair­man Charles M. Akin is op­posed by Sab­rina R. Sanford-Flint in the 4th Dis­trict race.

Vot­ing will take place in the Com­mu­nity Room at 138 E. Hightower Trail.

“These elected of­fi­cials play vi­tal roles in your com­mu­nity, and their de­ci­sions di­rectly af­fect your day-to-day life,” Sec­re­tary of State Brian Kemp, Ge­or­gia’s top elec­tions of­fi­cial, said in a state­ment.

“Your voice needs to be heard at the bal­lot box to fill these cru­cial po­si­tions.”

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.